Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Guides at Tulane University Tulane University Libraries Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Tulane University Special Collections - Guide to Architectural Holdings

A guide to architectural holdings of the Tulane University Special Collections (TUSC)

How to Locate Architectural Books/Periodicals in TUSC

TUSC has three book collections within its holdings that include architectural subjects for researchers to use. The Louisiana Research Collection (LaRC) holds the majority of these titles, and the Southeastern Architectural Archive (SEAA) has a small reference collection consisting mostly of duplicate copies available in LaRC or other Tulane repositories. TUSC’s Garden Library of the New Orleans Town Gardeners includes books on landscape architecture and design.

The principal search tool for all books and periodicals in TUSC is the Tulane Library Search. Please note that no material in TUSC, including cataloged books and periodicals, may be checked out, and must be viewed in TUSC's Schiro Reading Room.

Monograph titles which may be helpful in researching the architecture of Louisiana and the New Orleans region:
 

undefined

A good place to start with researching New Orleans buildings and neighborhoods is the New Orleans Architecture series of eight volumes, published by the Friends of the Cabildo starting in 1971. Compiled by the region’s preeminent architectural historians of the time.

  • New Orleans Architecture: Friends of the Cabildo. Gretna, LA: Pelican Publishing Company. 1971-1997. Call Number NA 735 .N4 W52
  • Volume 1. The Lower Garden District.
  • Volume 2. The American Sector (Faubourg St. Mary).
  • Volume 3. The Cemeteries.
  • Volume 4. The Creole Faubourgs.
  • Volume 5. The Esplanade Ridge.
  • Volume 6. Faubourg Tremé.
  • Volume 7. Jefferson City.
  • Volume 8. The University Section.

Homes for Workmen. New Orleans: Southern Pine
Association. 1919. Call Number NA 7551 .S6 1919. 

Click on the image to open Tulane Library Search info.

  • Buildings of Louisiana. Karen Kingsley. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press. 2003. Call Number NA 730 .L8 K55 2003
  • Buildings of New Orleans. Karen Kingsley; Lake Douglas. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press. 2018. Call Number NA 735 .N4 2018

TUSC preserves several important periodicals on Louisiana and New Orleans regional architecture and construction. The majority of these titles will be located in TUSC’s Louisiana Research Collection and the Southeastern Architectural Archive.

The principal search tool for all books and periodicals is the Tulane Library Search. Please note that no material in TUSC, including cataloged books and periodicals, may be checked out, and must be viewed in TUSC's Schiro Reading Room.

Periodical titles which may be helpful in researching the architecture of Louisiana and the New Orleans region:
 

  • Volume 1, 1905 (title of Volume 1: Architecture and Allied Arts).
  • Volume 2, 1906 – Volume 7, 1912.
  • Volume 8, Number 3, 1912; 8, Number 7, 1913.
  • New Orleans Architect. AIA – New Orleans Chapter. Mount Vernon, NY: Construction News, Inc. Call Number 976.31 (720) N532
  • February 1962 – February 1964.

 

 

 

Architectural Art and Its Allies. Allison Owen, ed. New Orleans: La
Architectural Association. Volume 8, Number 4, October 1912.
NA 1 .A52. Click on the image to open Tulane Library Search info.

  • New Orleans Architect. AIA – New Orleans Chapter. Metairie, LA: Strategic Publishing. Call Number 3511 .N4 N48
  • September – November, 1985.
  • Volume 1, Number 1 – 11, 1986.
  • Volume 2, Number 1 – 2, 1987.
  • 1990 – 1993.

The following titles aren’t strictly Louisiana or the New Orleans region, but include articles on Louisiana and New Orleans buildings and construction.

  • Southern Architect. Thomas H. Morgan; et al. Atlanta: Southern Architect Publishing Co. Call Number NA 1 .S699

  • Volume 11, Number 1, 1899 (only copy available in TUSC).

  • Volume 1, 1876 – Volume 94, 1908.

TUSC has many rare architectural books within its holdings. The principal collection for Louisiana and New Orleans regional titles will be in the Louisiana Research Collection. TUSC’s rare books collection preserves some Louisiana and New Orleans architectural books, and also holds American and European titles, some of which may have been signed by New Orleans architects who once owned them. A small number of rare titles will also be in TUSC’s Southeastern Architectural Archive.

The principal search tool for all books and periodicals is the Tulane Library Search. Please note that no material in TUSC, including cataloged books and periodicals, may be checked out, and must be viewed in TUSC's Schiro Reading Room.

Rare monograph titles which may be helpful in researching architecture: 

  • Kommende Bau Kunst. Le Corbusier. Stuttgart: Deutsche Verlage-Anstalt. 1926. Call Number 720 J43VYh

 

undefined

 

The Architect, or Practical House Carpenter… Asher Benjamin. Boston: Sanborn, Carter, and Bazin. 1847. Plate 23. Call Number NA 2520 .B45 1847

Click on the image to open Tulane Library Search info.

The following regional institutions also hold architectural books, inclduing rare titles:

Here are some helpful links to online catalogs and information about architectural books:

  • Tulane Library Search. This is the main search tool for all monograph and periodical resources held in TUSC and other Tulane Libraries.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.