Sociology Library Guide

Covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

The bibliographic records in Urban Studies Abstracts cover urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of urban studies.

Includes records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology from around the world.

A collection of full-text journals related to criminal justice topics.

The focus of this module is on the NAACP's efforts to combat lynching, mob violence, discrimination in the criminal justice system, and white resistance to civil rights efforts. These files are supplemented by materials on segregation and discrimination complaints regarding public accommodations and recreational facilities sent to and investigated by the NAACP, and records on discrimination in employment. A particularly rich set of records in this module is the NAACP file on one of the most celebrated criminal trials of the 20th century--the case of the Scottsboro Boys. The NAACP's campaign against lynching and mob violence was ideally suited to accomplish the NAACP's early goals of breaching the wall of silence regarding racial discrimination and racial violence, and bringing African Americans into full civic participation. The records pertaining to this campaign shed light on the Great Migration of the early 20th century and the movement of African Americans to urban areas, and NAACP's efforts to respond to urban mob violence, especially during the violence of 1919 as well as later riots. The NAACP's efforts to win passage of a federal law against lynching are also well-documented in this module.

Covers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Race, Ethnicity & Education and Ethnic & Racial Studies.

Sourced from Amistad Research Center, this primary source collections features content from the Race Relations Department, based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, that investigated problem areas in race relations and developed methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

Ethnic American Newspapers features more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states, with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.

Black Life in America is designed to help researchers surface newspaper articles on varied topical categories such as: slavery and flights to freedom; voting rights and voter suppression and disenfranchisement; segregation and civil rights; prejudice and discrimination; and activism and protest movements. Sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Tulane's subscription includes: Series 1: 1704-1877; Series 2: 1878-1975; and Series 3: 1976-today.

Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1909-2010, as well as other historical African-American newspapers. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies.

Part of ancestry.com's Fold3 platform for military records, Native American Archives includes the following digital collections: US, Ratified Indian Treaties, 1722-1869; US, Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940; US, Dawes Enrollment Cards, 1898-1914;US, Guion Miller Roll, 1908-1910; US, Dawes Packets, 1898-1914; US, Eastern Cherokee Applications of the U.S. Court of Claims, 1906-1909 of the U.S. Court of Claims; and US, Photos - Native Americans (Rinehart), 1898, from the Boston Public Library's collection of Frank A. Rinehart's Native American photographs.

The Archives of Sexuality & Gender provides a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas. The collection includes modules on International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 Parts I & II, and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.

This collection of original source material from more than 21 libraries, most in the U.K., supports those studying the history of gender from diverse perspectives. Document and genre types include college records and exam papers; commonplace books; conduct and advice literature; diaries and journals; pedagogical materials; ephemera, government papers; illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion; letters; ledgers and account books; literature; pamphlets; periodicals; receipt books; and travel writing. The collection features many works by well- and lesser-known women writers. Most materials are in English, with a geographic emphasis on Britain and the former British empire.

This resource documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. The collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.

GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. Offers articles from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Topics include sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.

Resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

This resource is a collection of primary source documents from the National Negro Business League, a business organization founded in 1900 by Booker T. Washington. The League included small African American business owners, doctors, farmers, craftsmen, and other professionals and the league's goal was to allow business to put economic development at the forefront of getting African American equality in America.

This collection brings together a series of Office of Economic Opportunity (OEO) collections that highlight efforts to meld the issue of civil rights and antipoverty initiatives. It includes: 1) Alphabetical File of Samuel Yette, 1964-1966: Yette was the Special Assistant to the Director of Civil Rights. Among his records are correspondence, reports, antipoverty program analyses, minutes of meetings, transcripts of testimonies, and other material. 2) Program Files, 1964-1967: These records consist of correspondence, weekly reports on civil rights matters, reports by civil rights coordinators, equal employment opportunity guidelines, and more. 3) Records Relating to the Administration of the Civil Rights Program in the Regions, 1965-1966.

Access Tulane's subscription to the current issues of The Economist on economist.com.

This database includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

The Popular Educational Periodicals,1758-1889 collection contains periodicals published between 1758 and 1889 chronicling the wave of lyceums, athenaeums, and Universities across the United States during that time.