A comprehensive resource of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data, the text of the Congressional Record, and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Tulane has access to content through 2024.
A massive digital collection of presidential papers, messages, speeches, videos, statistics, and other resources, from George Washington to the present.
HeinOnline's U.S. Presidential Library resource includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Weekly Compilation of the Presidential Documents, and other documents relating to U.S. presidents. Messages and Papers of the Presidents is a 22-volume set beginning with George Washington and concluding with Herbert Hoover.
The messages of the presidents of the United States annual, veto, and special are among the most interesting, instructive and valuable contributions to the public literature of our Republic. They discuss from the loftiest standpoint nearly all the great questions of national policy and many subjects of minor interest which have engaged the attention of the people from the beginning of our history, and so constitute important and often vital links in their progressive development. Public Papers of the Presidents begins with Herbert Hoover and concludes with George W. Bush. They have been compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration since 1957 in response to a recommendation by the National Historical Publications Commission. Noting the lack of uniform compilations of messages and papers of the presidents before this time, the Commission recommended the establishment of an official series in which presidential writings, addresses and remarks of a public nature could be made available. The CFR Title 3 series contains the full text of presidential proclamations, executive orders, and certain other presidential documents promulgated during 1936-2001. This series of presidential compilations is published under Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations and designed to cover the text of formal presidential documents under the Federal Register Act.
The James Madison Papers from the Manuscript Division at the Library of Congress consist of approximately 12,000 items captured in some 72,000 digital images.
This library offers the only complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports from 1754 onwards, as well as Preliminary Prints from 2002 onwards and Slip Opinions from 2002 to date. The collection also includes a variety of resourceful books and periodicals such as, the Supreme Court Economic Review and the Supreme Court Review.
1994-current
The official website of the Government Printing Office (GPO). GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
1938-2011 The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations (sometimes called administrative law) published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government of the United States
1908-2002 (strongest 1940s-1970s) This collection is made up of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others. As researchers visit these presidential libraries and request documents, the libraries photocopy and provide them to Gale for filming. The result is a collection of more than 75,000 documents, consisting of more than 465,000 pages.
coverage varies by collection Collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Declassified government documents obtained through use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Each collection contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material. Additionally, contextual and reference supplements are provided for each collection, including general introductory material, a chronology, glossary and bibliography.
The resource comprises the following databases; Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990; The Afghanistan War and the United States, 1998-2017; Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy; The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962; Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990; China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998; CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010; CIA Family Jewels Indexed; Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010; The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962; The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update; The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink; Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999; Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden; El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984; El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994; Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980; The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988; Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994; Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976, 1877-1992, and Part III, 1961-2000; The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977; The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977; Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013; The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009; Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990; Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000; The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986; Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton; Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush; South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989; The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991; Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004; Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002; U.S. Climate Change Diplomacy: From the Montreal Protocol to the Paris Agreement, 1981-2015; U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996; U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action; The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989; The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11; U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq; U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991; U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968; U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy, 1945–1991; U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I (1954-1968) and Part II: (1969-1975); U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015; and The United States and the Two Koreas, Part 1 (1969-2000) and Part II (1969-2010).
This library offers the only complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports from 1754 onwards, as well as Preliminary Prints from 2002 onwards and Slip Opinions from 2002 to date. The collection also includes a variety of resourceful books and periodicals such as, the Supreme Court Economic Review and the Supreme Court Review.
The world's most-comprehensive online collection of image-based U.S. treaties and other international agreements can be found in HeinOnline's Treaties and Agreements Library.
Politico's E&E News resource provides up-to-date journalism on energy and environmental issues in the U.S. and internationally. The Documents section allows you to search a wide range of government and policy documents, from executive orders to amendments, bills, and more.
Treaty Publications;
International Court of Justice (ICJ);
United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL);
International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS);
United Nations Yearbooks;
United Nations Serials;
Codification and Progressive Development of International Law;
United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR);
and Other Related Works
Offers original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers, from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through the Black September war of 1970-1971.
From 1940-1945, covers the political life in Occupied Western Europe available to the British Government during World War II from the original intelligence reports, photographs, posters, and film.
Contains contemporary accounts and follow the detailed exchanges that shaped British foreign policy from the origins of the First World War and beyond.
Includes over 200,000 House of Commons and House of Lords session papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HTML has access to the following: 18th century (1688-1834) , 19th century (1801-1900), 20th century (1901-2003/04 session) and 21st century (2005 - present).
Contains original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers. Iraq 1914-1974 offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
An online multilingual database that provides comprehensive information on legal and political institutions in Latin America. Free to use, SIGLA democratizes access to systematic and comprehensive data about governance in the region.
