Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Guides at Tulane University Tulane University Libraries Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Political Science Library Guide

Research Tools for Political Science

Remote Research During the COVID-19 Emergency

This section has been created to aid students, faculty, and the general public in conducting research without access to the physical collections and spaces of Howard-Tilton Memorial Library https://library.tulane.edu/ Please don't hesitate to contact wedig@tulane.edu  with any and all remote research questions and concerns. I am available for email and zoom consultations Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm. I am happy and eager to help!

This section will be continually updated and we welcome suggestions.

 

How To Read A Scholarly Article

Looking for Journal Articles?

In addition to the peer-reviewed journal articles and other publications indexed by PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, look for the latest political science findings in the conference proceedings listed in Political Research Online.

The following databases cover scholarship relevant to particular geographical regions, but are interdisciplinary, offering a range of scholarship from the humanities, social sciences, and to a lesser extent natural sciences.  For Latin American Studies, don't miss the Latin American Studies and the Political Science: Latin America research guides. For Asia, see the Asian studies research guide.

Political economy is an interdisciplinary study of the relationship between the public and the private, the political and the economic, and has its origins in philosophical debates of the Enlightenment. Because of its interdisciplinary nature, scholars may find valuable resources from the fields of history, business, economics, and philosophy in addition to political science and policy studies.

For additional resources on legal research, visit the Basic Legal Research Guide, or contact the Tulane Law Library for reference assistance.

Getting full-text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text, click on the TU Link button: TU Link. This will search through the library's full-text holdings in other databases and give you a link to the full-text of the article. If there is no online access, there's a link to the library catalog to see if we have the full-text in print.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.