Library Guides: Physics &amp; Engineering Physics Library Guide: Find Articles

Research Appointments

Hi! I'm Kim Wheeler, a Scholarly Engagement Librarian for Science & Engineering. Feel free to email, call, book an appointment, or drop-in if you have any questions or would like assistance with your research, writing, data management, or other projects.

Find Articles, PrePrints, and Conference Proceedings

Core Databases
Other Useful Databases

Inspec (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Leading database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology. Part of Engineering Village
Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary engineering database with journals and conference materials. Part of Engineering Village
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full full text database of the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
For a current list of IEEE Explore material that is part of the Tulane University subscription package, check out: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/accessinfo.
ArXiv.org This link opens in a new window
E-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.

Scitation This link opens in a new window
Scitation platform is the online home for full text of the journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies.
SciTech Connect This link opens in a new window
SciTech Connect (formerly The Department of Energy (DOE) Information Bridge) is a portal to free, publicly-available Department of Energy sponsored R&D results related to science, technology, and engineering research information including technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.
fka The Department of Energy (DOE) Information Bridge
INSPIRE This link opens in a new window
Next-generation High Energy Physics (HEP) information system. Run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC, and interacts closely with HEP publishers, arXiv.org, NASA-ADS, PDG, HEPDATA and other information resources.

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.

Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.
SCOAP3 This link opens in a new window
SCOAP3 converts key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access. Here you can freely search, browse and of course download all Open Access articles sponsored by the international SCOAP3 initiative.

Useful Standards and Journal Collections

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Full Text! provides online, campus-wide access to all 13,000 ASTM standards as well as manuals, monographs, data series, selected technical papers, and journals, including back issues going back 30-40yrs. SEDL covers a range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering
IOPscience
IOPscience is the platform and search interface to access the full text of over 50 Institute of Physics journals in physics and math, in some cases dating back to 1874.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters (both Open Access and library-subscribed) on social sciences, humanities, scientific, technical, and medical research.

Connect with Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great tool for completing citations, locating known articles (e.g., from a Reference list or provided by a teacher), and for cited reference searching.

Connecting TU Link with Google Scholar
Connect Google Scholar with Tulane Libraries so you can seamlessly access the Library collection from anywhere!

Physics & Engineering Physics Library Guide

Scholarly Engagement Librarian, Physical Sciences

Research Appointments

Find Articles, PrePrints, and Conference Proceedings

Useful Standards and Journal Collections

Connect with Google Scholar