11040825Skip to Main Content
There are many different types of citation management software tools available. Listed here are instructions for RefWorks EndNote Basic, and Mendeley, three of our more common citation management software programs for the sciences.
For a complete list of the different citation management tools available, their pros & cons, and instructions for use, please see the Citation Management Tool Research Guide
RefWorks is a citation management software program which is paid for through Tulane University. Students will have access to their account after they graduate. RefWorks has a large number of Journal specific citation styles to choose from as well as standard citation styles.
RefWorks has two useful plugins:
Step-by-step RefWorks and Write-N-Cite instructions for Tulane Students (RefWorks LEGACY): including instructions on creating your account, managing your citations, database specific import/export instructions (including EBSCO and ProQuest platforms), creating your bibliography, and Write-N-Cite instructions.
EndNote X9 is a comprehensive productivity tool for researchers—both online and off. The only tool of its kind, EndNote X9 makes managing research easy for anyone from the novice researcher publishing their first discovery to the senior professor writing a grant. It lets researchers find, store, and share work in the most efficient way possible, saving time and effort.
EndNote X9 instructions for downloading and using the program, including tutorials can be found at https://libguides.tulane.edu/endnote
EndNote Basic (or EndNote Web) is a citation management tool integrated into Web of Science. EndNote Web allows you to import records from other databases too. If you have EndNote Desktop (not freely available), you can sync it with EndNote Web.
EndNote Basic has two useful plugins:
Step-by-step EndNote Basic and Cite While You Write Instructions for Tulane Students: including instructions on creating your account, managing your citations, database specific import/export instructions (including EBSCO and ProQuest platforms), creating your bibliography, and Cite While You Write instructions.
EndNote Basic Online Help: Site with instructions for using EndNote Web
A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
Since this is an Open Source Product, you have a lot of flexibility and can rely on a large community for troubleshooting and answers to your question.
LaTeX : Freely available high-quality typesetting system used primarily in the Physical Sciences. Particularly useful for type-setting mathematical or chemical formulas as well as large documents.
BibTeX is an additional tool and file format which works with LaTeX to create bibliographies. Compatible with other Citation management software as well.
Eugene Barsky, University of British Colombia BibTex Research guide - http://guides.library.ubc.ca/bibtex/refworks
Eugene Barsky, University of British Colombia BibTex Research guide: http://guides.library.ubc.ca/bibtex/endnote-web
Eugene Barsky, University of British Colombia BibTex Research guide: http://guides.library.ubc.ca/bibtex/mendeley