Library Guides: Physics &amp; Engineering Physics Library Guide: Background Materials

Background Information

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Interface to access several physical properties databases.
NIST Physical Reference Data
Links to search several NIST physical properties databases
NIST Ceramics WebBook
Links to data centers and property information related to ceramics and materials
NIMS Materials Database
Search across multiple materials properties and reference databases. From Japan's National Institute for Materials Science. In English. Registration is required but free.

NIST Data Gateway
Interactive online access to data tables and reference information on chemical and physical properties, constants, standard diagrams, etc.
VizieR
Provides access to the most complete library of published astronomical catalogues and data tables available online.

Kaye and Laby Online (Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants and Some Mathematical Functions 16th ed (1995))
Online version of the standard reference Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants and Some Mathematical Functions by G. W. C. Kaye and T. H. Laby, 16th edition (published 1995). From the National Physical Laboratory of the UK.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Online This link opens in a new window
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is presented in an easy-to-read HTML format. All tables are interactive and can be sorted and customized and sections of a table may be exported or printed. Powerful search capabilities based on structure, name, formula, and physical properties are provided. Properties can be graphed in various ways and values interpolated. Pages can be bookmarked for future reference and there is a searchable PDF archive of all Handbook editions back to the 84th edition.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
For over 120 years The Merck Index has been regarded as the most authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.

Characterization of Materials - Wiley InterScience
It covers materials characterization techniques ranging from the more mature mechanical, thermal and electrical testing methods to those state-of-the-art beam-based methods employed at large scientific user facilities around the world.

The Penguin Dictionary of Physics by John Cullerne (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781849726016
Publication Date: 2010-08-12
Provides clear and concise definitions for every area of physics - from optics and acoustics to mechanics and electronics, via quantum theory and relativity.

Superconductors by A. V. Narlikar
Call Number: QC611.95 .N37 2014
ISBN: 9780199584116
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Focuses on important milestones in the exciting development of superconductors.
Condensed Encyclopedia of Polymer Engineering Terms by Nicholas P. Cheremisinoff
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781849723251
Publication Date: 2008-08-08
his reference book provides a comprehensive overview, from A to Z of the nature, manufacture, structure, properties, processing, and applications of commercially available polymers.