Middle East & North African History Library Guide

Contains full-text 19th and 20th-century African newspapers, especially featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

A vast collection of more than 16,000 U.S. and global news sources in English, Spanish, French, and many other world languages. Search keywords and limit your results with filters like date ranges, publication locations, and language.

Sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library, British Library Newspapers delivers a wide range of local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. This collection illuminates diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press. Tulane subscribes to Parts I & II only, which span 1800-1900.

Access back issues of The Times (London) from 1785-1985.

Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) that represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. Published mostly in London, however some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and the American colonies, Europe, and India are represented.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde empowers researchers to digitally travel back through decades to become eyewitnesses to history. Written in the French language and covering leading issues and events, like World War II and the Fifth Republic, to French, European and international politics, society and business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Le Monde reveals the day-to-day news coverage valued by researchers. Tulane's coverage is from 1944-2000.

Portal page to access: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922); The American Israelite‎ (1854 - 2000); The Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1945); Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931 - 2003); The Baltimore Afro-American‎ (1893 - 1988); The Boston Globe‎ (1872 - 1986); Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975); Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1994); The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2004); Cleveland Call & Post‎ (1934 – 1991); Detroit Free Press‎ (1831 - 1922); The Guardian & The Observer‎ (1791 – 2003); The Irish Times & The Weekly Irish Times‎ (1859 - 2016); The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905 - 1990); The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887 - 1990); Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934 - 2005); Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1994); New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922 - 1993); The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2014); New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922); Norfolk Journal & Guide‎ (1916 - 2003); Philadelphia Tribune‎ (1912 - 2001); Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911 - 2002); The Scotsman‎ (1817 - 1950); The Times of India‎ (1838 - 2008); The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889 - 2000) and The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2001).

The New York Times one of the most prominent and longest-running American daily newspapers in the U.S. This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text of every available issue from 1851 to 2020.

The Washington Post (1877-1996) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions of every page from every available issue.

Bloomsbury Medieval Studies brings together high-quality secondary content and visual primary sources, including books, artistic objects, and artifacts, for the study of all world regions from c. 300-1500.

Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is a full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. The resource covers religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature. It also includes European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books.

Archive of 3,000 books published 1820-1914 from Egypt, Syria and the Islamic World. The collection covers humanistic, intellectual and scientific fields.

A partnership of academic & research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Note: not all titles are available as full-text.

An Historical Atlas of Islam is a compilation of maps of the far-reaching Islamic world dating from the inception of Islam until circa 1900, with accompanying annotations.

This collection comprises correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples. Highlights include the beginning of an anti-colonial movement and problems along the Moroccan-Algerian border.

This collection contains digitized records of the Department of State relating to Morocco's internal affairs from 1950 to 1959, documenting the lead-up to independence from France (1956) and the transition to constitutional monarchy.

This collection of State Department documents provides access to unique primary source materials on the political, economic and social development of Turkey during a period of democratization in the 1950s.

This collection addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of major Middle East powers during regional conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution. Also examined in detail are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia.

British government Confidential Print files, issued by the Foreign and Colonial Offices, cover the Middle East from Egypt to Afghanistan for the period from 1839-1969.

Contains original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers. Iraq 1914-1974 offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.

Offers original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers, from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through the Black September war of 1970-1971.

The Revolution and Protest Online includes materials relating to 21 social movements, including the Arab Spring and Iranian Revolution of 1979. It includes digitized video; primary sources and archival collections; journals, reports, monographs, and speeches; images; and ancillary materials including scholarly essays, bibliographies, sourced chronologies, and links to websites.

Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection of text, video, and images organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues. It includes primary and secondary source materials for more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including Afghanistan, and Israel, and Turkey.