Library Guides: Middle East & North African History Library Guide: Find Journal Articles

Intro

Below are your librarian's top picks for finding peer-reviewed journal articles in:

multidisciplinary academic databases
MENA databases
MENA journals

No two resources have the same contents and algorithms. In some you'll be casting a wide net; in others you're searching a much smaller set of content. Test and compare more than one to do a thorough information search!

MENA Databases

Africa-Wide Information This link opens in a new window
Offers unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Includes content from South African Studies, African Studies, and African HealthLine, which focuses on all aspects of health relating to Africa and other developing nations.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of books, articles and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the region, including North Africa. Coverage includes humanities and the social sciences.

History & Multidisciplinary Databases

Some of the most useful general academic databases for finding articles for MENA history and across disciplines are:

Library Search
Library Search is a discovery tool that pulls many Tulane library resources into one single search. Use filters to limit your search to Articles and/or Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles to access academic journal content.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) This link opens in a new window
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine), a German database, is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic resources like journal articles, dissertations and theses, and research reports. It is especially strong in international and open access content.

MENA Journals

These highly regarded Middle East & North African Studies journals include academic research from a wide range of subjects—history, anthropology, comparative literature, political science, etc. Try searching within individual journals for examples of peer-reviewed articles.

Getting Full Text

Some databases offer discovery without direct access to PDFs or full text. Watch this video to learn how access articles through Library Search or or Interlibrary Loan.