Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Guides at Tulane University Tulane University Libraries Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Latin American Studies: All Disciplines

A guide to select databases, library resources, links, and tips for researchers to find, access, and manage quality information sources in all disciplines of Latin American Studies.

About

This section is designed to help you navigate the many databases available for locating scholarly articles. No two databases will have the same journal contents and search terms and algorithms, so it's important to test and compare more than one.

Pro tip: Can't find full-text access to the article you're looking for? Try these two steps:

  1. Search the article title in Library Search to see if TU Libraries provides full text access. If we do not, then:
  2. Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. You'll receive a PDF scan within a few days.

Best Bets

Databases by Discipline

JSTOR is not the only archive of journal articles available online--far from it! Since JSTOR only has agreements to provide content published in certain journals, it's important to try other databases like those below and throughout this library guide.

Below are some of the top article databases for Film Studies. For more, see: Film & Cinema: Latin America & Spain.

Below are some of the top article databases for literary studies.  See the Spanish & Portuguese Library Guide for more.

Latin American Databases

These Latin American databases will give different results in a wider variety of languages, offering a less Anglo-centric perspective on scholarship.

The below indices allow you to search and locate the titles of journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean & Iberia. Once you identify a title you're interested in, you can search for it in our library catalog.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.