Library Guides: Jewish Studies Library Guide: Tulane Jewish History

Intro

The history of Jewish life, individuals, and organizations at Tulane remains to be written. This section highlights resources that, while not centered on Jewish Studies, can be used to unearth the history of the university.

Tulane University Digital Collections

Tulane University Libraries' Digital Collections include a variety of digitized materials relating to the university's past and present:

Jambalaya and T-Wave Yearbooks
The Jambalaya yearbook began publication in 1896, but was not published from 1997-2003, nor in 2007. It ceased publication in 2009. Completely produced by students, these visual time-capsules document the daily life of students at Tulane University and the former Newcomb College, as well as highlighting special events that impacted their collegiate experience. Up until the early 1980s, students from all Tulane University schools and colleges were included in these yearbooks. In 1982, the students of the Tulane School of Medicine launched their own yearbook, the "T-Wave".
Newcomb College Alumnae Oral History Project Collection
The Newcomb College Alumnae Oral History Project grew out of a popular weekly series hosted by the Newcomb College Center for Research on Women (then known as the Newcomb Women’s Center) in the early 1980s, during which faculty members would interview a local alum. The recordings of these interviews formed the beginning of the Newcomb Archives’ oral history collection. The Alumnae Oral History Project officially began in 1986, with a series of interviews inspired by the College’s centennial year. Over the years, the collection has grown to include interviews with alumnae from 1910 through the late 1990s.
Newcomb College Photographs
The Newcomb College Photographs consist of images of Newcomb students, classes, sports teams and athletics classes, Washington Avenue and Broadway Street campus buildings, and graduation photographs dating from roughly 1887 to 1930. These images offer a visual history of Newcomb College, its students, campus and programs during the first decades of its existence.
Student Ledgers, Graduates, and Alumni Lists
This collection allows genealogists and researchers to scroll through the handwritten pages of Tulane's student registers for the Medical, Law, Collegiate, and University/Graduate Departments, Tulane High School, and Tulane College, from 1834 to the early 20th century.
Tulane Hullabaloo
Digitized issues of the Tulane Hullabaloo, 1996-2018.
WTUL: A Collection from Tulane University's Independent Radio Station
WTUL is a progressive/ alternative FM radio outlet in New Orleans, Louisiana, operating at 91.5 MHz and established in 1959. The station, operated primarily by students of Tulane University since 1962, offers a mix of cutting-edge progressive, electronica, classical, New Age, straight ahead jazz, folk, blues Latin, world reggae, show tunes, kid's show and an eclectic mix of a variety of genres. This collection contains a wide range of the station's and Tulane University's history as seen through the perspective of students and music. Much of this material, including Vox publications, event flyers, selected playlists, DJ schedules, audio recorded interviews and other WTUL produced audio content, FCC documentation, station promos and more from the station's birth in 1959 to the present.

New Orleans Newspapers

One way to search for information about Jewish life, individuals, and organizations at Tulane is to look for coverage in local New Orleans newspapers. Below are some best bets for newspaper databases.

Times-Picayune & Daily Picayune: 1837-2017 (New Orleans, La.) - Readex/Newsbank This link opens in a new window
Access full text and full image of articles from The Picayune, the Daily Picayune, and the Times-Picayune (New Orleans) from 1837 through 2017.
Times-Picayune Collection: 20th Century (New Orleans) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database includes Times-Picayune content from 1989 to the present. Allows you to search and browse full-color scans of the print editions of the Times-Picayune, as well as Web Edition articles published on nola.com.

The Jewish Ledger
A New Orleans weekly paper digitized by the National Library of Israel. Content spans 2 July 1915 - 28 December 1917 (125 issues; 3,336 pages)

For more extensive guides to New Orleans newspaper resources, see the Contemporary News and Historical Newspapers sections of the Louisiana Information Sources Library Guide.

University Archives

University Archives are a division of Tulane University Special Collections. Only ten of the University Archives' extensive collections have been described and made discoverable through Tulane University Archives' Archival Collections database. For this reason, the best way to pursue research on Jewish life, individuals, and organizations in University Archives is to contact the archivist, Ann Case: acase@tulane.edu.