Library Guides: Gender &amp; Sexuality Studies Library Guide: Find Reference Sources

Types of Reference Sources

Reference resources are non-fiction writings that are intended to provide information on a topic. Reference resources are often consulted when researchers want to increase their knowledge. Reference sources are usually not argumentative as their purpose is to explain. Common reference sources include --

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Biographies

Almanacs

Handbooks

Background Information Databases and Encyclopedias

Credo Reference
Database that allows you to discover and access hundreds of reference books, such as encyclopedias and historical dictionaries, from high-quality publishers.
Gale eBooks
Searchable, full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Handbooks
Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those disciplines and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

Access to full text of titles published by Oxford Scholarship Online for the following collections and updates: Archaeology (Sept. & Nov. 2012); Business & Management (Sept. 2009, May 2010); Classics (current through 2016); History (current through 2016); Economics & Finance (current through 2016); Linguistics (current through 2016); Music (current thru 2021); Philosophy (current through 2016); Political Science (Sept. 2009, Jan. & May 2010, Jan. 2011, May 2011); Religion (Sept. 2009, Jan. 2010, Jan. & May 2011)

Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history
ISBN: 9780684325545

This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.