Library Guides: Statistics & Data for the Social Sciences: A Guide: Historical Data

Historical Statistics in Print

Yes, some data and statistics are available in print!

International Historical Statistics: Americas, 1750-2000 by B. R. Mitchell
Call Number: HA 175 .M55 2003 (Research Help Desk)
ISBN: 0230005136
Publication Date: 2003
Key economic and social indicators for the last 250 years for countries on the American continent.
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000 by Brian Mitchell
Call Number: HA 1107 .M5 2003 (Research Help Desk)
ISBN: 0333994116
Publication Date: 2003
Key economic and social indicators for European countries over the last 250 years.
International Historical Statistics by B. R. Mitchell
Call Number: HA 4675 .M552 2003 (Resesarch Help Desk)
ISBN: 0333994124
Publication Date: 2003-09-06
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia and Oceania is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2002 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 250 years, serving as an essential reference source for both hard-to-find historical data and the latest figures available, and as an indispensable tool for comparisons between countries and across time.

Historical Statistics & Data: United States

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Contains cumulative historical statistics for the United States from 1789-2000.

Social Explorer
Current and historical U.S. census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports.
Statistical Abstracts
Scanned versions of the published volumes covering 1789-2011.
Historical Census of Population & Housing
Historical decennial census publications in pdf format from 1790 to present.
"Special Collections & Reports" link provides access to additional historical census bulletins and data such as for imports & exports, manufactures, and religious bodies.

Historical Statistics & Data: International

Some historical census data is published and can be located in the library catalog. Keyword search "Census" with the desired country, or ask a librarian for assistance.

Library & Archives Canada: Census and Enumerations
Canada
For most provinces, includes the census returns of 1851, 1861, 1871, 1881, 1891, 1901, 1906, 1911 and 1916, and list each person by name with the following details: age; sex; country or province of birth; religion; racial or ethnic origin; occupation; and marital status.
Links to additional Canadian census sources.
Online Historical Population Reports (OHPR)
Great Britain
The Online Historical Population Reports (OHPR) collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.
Central Statistics Office Ireland
Ireland
Includes recent and historical Irish census data. The Censuses of 1901 and 1911 are available online in full, while aggregate data is available in pdf form for 1926-1991. Interactive tables are available for 1996, 2002, and 2006. 2011 data will be included as it becomes available.