Library Guides: Statistics & Data for the Social Sciences: A Guide: U.S. Federal Government Data

Major U.S. Government Statistical Agencies

There are hundreds of U.S. Government agencies and departments that publish their own "official" statistics. USA.gov is the U.S. Government's official portal for all agency and departmental information and data available on the web.

These directories will help you locate the U.S. government agency that may provide the specific data or statistics you need.

USA.gov
Find information by searching by topic or agency.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Data and Statistics about the U.S.
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Statistical Abstracts series, 1878-2012
Scanned copies of the annual Statistical Abstracts of the United States, provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Select Guide to U.S. Agencies providing Statistics & Data

Federal Bureau of Investigation - Uniform Crime Reports
The UCR provides nationwide statistics of crime based on the voluntary submission of city, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies throughout the country.
U.S. Department of Justice Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics is the United States primary source for criminal justice statistics. They collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems.

Hall of Justice
Hall of Justice, a project of the Sunlight Foundation, is a robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research at the state and local levels.

For more ways to access and analyze data from the U.S. Census Bureau, select the U.S. Census from the menu on the left.

Housing & Urban Development (HUD) Data Sets
Access to the original data sets including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
United States Census Bureau
Government agency responsible for the United States Census, and for gathering national demographic and economic data. As part of the United States Department of Commerce, the Census Bureau serves as a leading source of data about America's people and economy.
USA Counties
Features over 6,500 data items for the U.S., states and counties from a variety of sources. Includes data on age, agriculture, ancestry, banking, building permits, business patterns, crime, earnings, education, elections, employment, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, retail trade, social programs, veterans, vital statistics, water use, and wholesale trade. Data provided by U. S. Census Bureau and other Federal agencies.

Non-governmental sources of data

The following data sources are not produced by any agency of the U.S. government, but may be of interest for the study or housing and populations.

Inside Airbnb
An independent, non-commercial set of tools and data that allows you to explore how Airbnb is being used in cities around the world.

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) - Statistics
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces all of laws related to discrimination in the areas of civil rights, gender, age, employment, disabilities and sexual orientation. Provides official enforcement and litigation statistics for employment discrimination and resolutions, employment statistics and equal employment opportunity data.

Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) -Stats & Facts
Government agency responsible for enforcing the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States.
National Institute on Drug Abuse - Trends and Statistics
A part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the National Institute on Drug Abuse provides data and information on drug abuse and addiction.
SAMHSA (Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration)
The Nation's one-stop resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment.

STAT-USA (successor sites)
STAT-USA, a centralized source of U.S. government economic statistics, ceased to exist in 2010. The University of Central Florida Libraries maintains an excellent list of all the separate offices that contributed to STAT-USA, and now provide statistics and data independently.
Budget of the United States Government
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
This site contains both historical and current NIPA (National Income and Product Accounts) tables, state and regional data, and US international trade data released on a regular basis by the BEA. Data are available either in html or pdf format.
United States Department of Labor
The principal fact-finding agency for the U.S. Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Economic Indicators (U.S. Census Bureau)
Regularly updated US economic data and statistics such as housing starts, retail merchant sales, international durable goods orders.
Economic Report of the President
An annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
1995-present
more...less...
Documents are available in ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF), with many of the tables also available for separate viewing and downloading as spreadsheets in Microsoft Excel (XLS).
Federal Reserve System - Statistics & Historical Data
Federal Reserve System statistics and historical data includes previously published information and statistics of U.S bank assets and liabilities, business finance, exchange rates and international data, flow of funds accounts, household finance, industrial activity, interest rates, money stock and reserve balances.
Internal Revenue Service - Tax Statistics
A wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system
International Trade Administration (ITA)
Under the U.S. Department of Commerce, ITA strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad.
USA Trade Online
ID: F0225 Password: TSG96LP
Provides U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities.
Howard-Tilton's subscription also provides access to monthly and annual trade statistics at the district and port level, as well as state exports and imports, including the Port of New Orleans.

National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education

CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection This link opens in a new window
CQ Voting and Elections Collection integrates a wealth of data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide a powerful research and reference tool on the American voter.

Federal Election Commission (FEC) - Campaign Finance Reports and Data
Published reports filed by Senate, House of Representatives and Presidential campaigns that list how much each campaign has raised and spent. Includes lists of all donors over $200, along with each donor's home address, employer and job title.
Clerk of the House : Election Statistics
Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories. These documents, out of print for many years, have been collected and scanned in a format to make them once again available to researchers and students.

United States Department of Labor
The principal fact-finding agency for the U.S. Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Women's Bureau - Quick Stats
United States Department of Labor agency charged with advocating on behalf of America’s working women. Created by law in 1920 to formulate standards and policies to promote the welfare of wage-earning women, improve their working conditions, increase their efficiency, and advance their opportunities for profitable employment.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration - Data and Statistics
Department of Labor agency charged with ensuring safe and healthful working conditions, enforcing standards and providing training, outreach, education and assistance.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - Data Finder
A vast selection of EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats.
CERCLIS - Superfund Data
The Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Information System (CERCLIS) database allows you to retrieve Superfund data. Specify a facility by using any combination of facility name and geographic location.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Collects remotely-sensed data to improve our understanding of and contribute to improved predictive capability for climate, weather, and natural hazards. Research and satellite programs study atmospheric chemistry and ozone, ocean surface height and winds
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Gathers worldwide environmental data about the oceans, earth, air, space, and sun and their interactions to describe and predict the state of the physical environment. In fulfillment of this mission, the National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Informa
National Response Center (NRC)
The NRC serves as the sole national point of contact for reporting all oil, chemical, radiological, biological, and etiological discharges into the environment anywhere in the United States and its territories.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Collects and maintains data on the quality, availability, and use of the Nation's water, including streamflow data for flood forecasting; and streamflow data that help determine water allocations for agriculture, industry, and domestic supply.

Administration for Children and Families Children's Bureau - Statistics & Research
Provides state and national data on adoption and foster care, child abuse and neglect, and child welfare. The Children's Bureau also funds research in collaboration with other organizations.
Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum)
A working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families. The Forum has partners from 22 Federal agencies as well as partners in private research organizations.

Economic Research Service -Datasets
A primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture. With over 350 employees, ERS conducts a research program to inform public and private decisionmaking on economic and policy issues involving food, farming, natural resources, and rural development.
Food and Agriculture Statistics (FAOSTAT)
FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries.
USDA Foreign Agricultural Service - Market and Trade Data
The Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) works to improve foreign market access for U.S. products, build new markets, improve the competitive position of U.S. agriculture in the global marketplace, and provide food aid and technical assistance to foreign countries. Provides statistical market information, trade data and statistics
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture. Part of the United States Department of Agriculture.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
AHRQ offers robust data sources that may be of interest to researchers, clinicians, purchasers, policymakers, or consumers.
Centers for Disease Control - Data & Statistics
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States.
Department of Health and Human Services
The Department (HHS) is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Principal health statistics agency of the Centers of Disease Control (CDC).
Occupational Safety & Health Administration - Data and Statistics
Department of Labor agency charged with ensuring safe and healthful working conditions, enforcing standards and providing training, outreach, education and assistance.

American Memory Project - Immigration
Produced by the Library of Congress. Provides an introduction to the study of immigration to the United States. Focuses only on the immigrant groups that arrived in greatest numbers during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.

Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration
PRM has primary responsibility for formulating policies on population, refugees, and migration, and for administering U.S. refugee assistance and admissions programs.
Department of Homeland Security - Immigration Statistics
Official U.S. Government statistics on immigration. Provides data & statistics, publications, data standards and definitions.
Immigration and Customs Enforcement
The investigative branch of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).
National Archives and Records Administration
Provides immigration records and ship passenger arrival records. as well as links to other immigration resources.
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
We are responsible for the administration of immigration and naturalization adjudication functions and establishing immigration services policies and priorities.(Now part of the Department of Homeland Security)

Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Principal U.S. Federal Statistical Agencies
A compilation of both government and academic sites containing poverty statistics.
Social Security Administration
The Social Security Administration is an independent government agency responsible for the Social Security System.
U.S. Census Bureau - Poverty
The U.S Census Bureau provides recent data on income, poverty, and health insurance coverage in the United States (2007). Also provides detailed current and historical tables showing poverty over time.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)
Provides data collection, analysis, and reporting of all U.S. transportation related data. Also includes data for information technology and geographic information systems.
USA Trade Online
ID: F0225 Password: TSG96LP
Provides U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities.
Howard-Tilton's subscription also provides access to monthly and annual trade statistics at the district and port level, as well as state exports and imports, including the Port of New Orleans.

Commercial Databases

These subscription databases include statistics and data from the U.S. government.

SAGE Data This link opens in a new window
Standardized and structured statistical data including key economic indicators. Covers subjects including banking and finance, criminal justice, education, industry and commerce, housing and construction, population and income, stocks and commodities, and more. International data includes China Data Center, International Monetary Fund, imports and exports, international finance statistics, World Bank statistics, and Stats Canada. NOTE: from off campus this resource is not compatible with the Firefox web browser.
Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.

Statista
Integrates over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Stats about U.S. Congress

Vital Statistics on Congress This link opens in a new window
Collects and provides data on its membership, its formal procedure (such as the use of the filibuster), informal norms, party structure, and staff. Also documents how Congress has changed over time, illustrating, for example, the increasing polarization of Congress and the diversifying demographics of those who are elected to serve.

GovTrack.us
Tracks the legislative activities of Congress.
GovTrack also quantifies the ideological and leadership characteristics of members of Congress based on statistical analysis of bill sponsorship and cosponsorship.
Voteview.com
Datasets and analysis of Congressional voting patterns.
Collected and made available by Howard Rosenthal and Keith Poole.