Library Guides: Psychology Library Guide: Publishing & Grants

Unique Researcher Identifiers

A unique identifier allows you to distinguish yourself from other researchers. It can be used in journal and grant submissions and it allows you to standardize your research persona ensuring that you get recognition for your work. It is now required by many funders and publishers.

ORCID Homepage
ORCID is an open, non-profit, community-driven effort to create and maintain a registry of unique researcher identifiers and a transparent method of linking research activities and outputs to these identifiers. ORCID is a 16-digit number that is compatible with the ISO Standard (ISO 27729)
ORCID Information for Tulane Users
Tulane has an institutional licence to ORCID. This guide provides information on how to create or link your current account with Tulane.
Auto-update ORCID with CrossRef
Enter once, when you submit a paper, then watch as your ORCID record is automatically updated as your work is published, registered with Crossref, and enters the global citation network
ORCID & SciENcv Tutorial
Video tutorial on connecting ORCID to SciENcv NIH/NSF
ResearcherID
ResearcherID information integrates with the Web of Science and is ORCID compliant, allowing you to claim and showcase your publications from a single account.

Publishing & Grant Writing Guidance

Funding and Grants Research Guide
by Raquel Horlick Last Updated Apr 16, 2024 631 views this year

Write an Effective Funding Application by Mary W. Walters
Call Number: HG177 .W35 2009
ISBN: 9780801893551
Publication Date: 2009-09-22
The practical advice in this guidebook is designed to aid academics in writing successful applications at all stages of their careers.
Funding Your Career in Science by Ritsert C. Jansen
Call Number: Q180.55.F5 J36 2013
ISBN: 9781107040069
Publication Date: 2013-09-05
This practical guide for students, postdocs and professors offers a unique step-by-step approach to help you get the funding to start or consolidate your own research career.
Proposals That Work by Stephen J. Silverman; Lawrence Locke et al.
Call Number: Matas Book stacks - W 20.5 L814p.6 2014
ISBN: 9781452216850
Publication Date: 2013-04-18
Offering clear advice backed up with excellent examples of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding.
Developing a Winning Grant Proposal by Donald C. Orlich; Nancy R. Shrope
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780203112632
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Provides the guidelines, strategies, plans, and techniques to craft a fundable grant proposal.
Writing the NIH Grant Proposal by William Gerin; Christine Kapelewski Kinkade; Niki L. Page
Call Number: Howard-Tilton Stacks RA11.D6 G47 2018
ISBN: 9781506357737
Publication Date: 2017-11-09
Authors William Gerin, Christine Kapelewski, and Niki L. Page are here to help you secure NIH funding for your research! Writing the NIH Grant Proposal, Third Edition offers hands-on advice that simplifies, demystifies, and takes the fear out of writing a federal grant application. Acting as a virtual mentor, this book provides systematic guidance for every step of the NIH application process, including the administrative details, developing and managing collaborative relationships, budgeting, and building a research team. Helpful hints along the way provide tips from researchers who have received grants themselves. New to this Edition: Much more user-friendly in response to the updated NIH website Covers the new Application Submission System & Interface for Submission Tracking (ASSIST) online submission form for both single and multiple projects Revamped advice on substantive sections of the proposal to address lowered page allowance Coverage of the new scoring system and reviewer reporting system Coverage of the usage and submission of the new SF 424 forms

NIH Grant writing tips
Select tip sheets and guides from the NIH on how to prepare and write a grant.
Grant writing 101
Weir, K. (2014). Grant writing 101: How to craft a grant that could boost your career prospects. Retrieved from http://www.apa.org/gradpsych/2014/01/grant-writing.aspx
What happens to your grant application a primer for new applicants.
Center for Scientific Review (National Institutes of Health)

How to Publish High-Quality Research by Jeff Joireman; Paul A. M Van Lange
Call Number: BF76.8 .J65 2015
ISBN: 9781433818615
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
In compelling, user-friendly prose, the authors explain how young scholars can create high-quality research that attains a high impact.
Write It Up: practical strategies for writing and publishing journal articles by Paul J. Silvia
Call Number: PN146 .S553 2015
ISBN: 9781433818141
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Offers a practical and revealing look at how productive researchers write strong articles.
Reporting Research in Psychology by Harris M. Cooper
Call Number: BF76.8 .C66 2011
ISBN: 9781433809163
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
Provides practical guidance on understanding and implementing journal article reporting standards (JARS) and meta-analyses reporting standards (MARS).

Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Allows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals. Search impact factor by category, journal or ISSN. NOTE: Use your Web of Science or Endnote username and password or create a new username and password for this database
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Detailed, comprehensive information on serials published throughout the world. (Formerly Ulrich's Periodicals Directory)