Library Guides: Psychology Library Guide: Tests, Scales & Measurements

About Tests & Measurements

Locating the full-text of tests & measurements can be a challenging task. This is because 'Published' tests are commercial property and must therefore be purchased from the publisher.

'Unpublished' tests are much easier to find in handbooks, books, online, and appendices in theses & dissertations, and journal articles.

To Locate

To locate

Published Tests: Conduct a search in one of our databases to find the publisher information so you may contact them directly.

Unpublished Tests: Conduct a search in one of our databases and then check the Library Catalog to see if we have the Journal, Book or Handbook where the test or measurement was made available. If we do not have the item, submit an interlibrary loan request

Databases, Websites & Advice

These databases MAY NOT include the actual full-text of the measurement but they provide the citation information so that you may locate the test and/or a review of the reliability & validity of the testing instrument.

Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, techniques and more. Does NOT include full-text access.
Records provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and where to find or order the testing instrument.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to 'Published' testing instruments. All entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s). Does NOT include full-text access to tests.
All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts.
PsycTESTS (American Psychological Association PsycNET) This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of 'Unpublished' tests and information on 'Published' tests. Each record includes a summary, background information, development history, purpose, reliability and validity data, test format and the citation for the peer-reviewed source document

The advanced search features of these databases including search field options and filters which may be useful in locating the full-text of 'Unpublished' tests.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Sometimes authors will mention a test or measurement that they used or designed in their article. The test or measurement may then be found in the appendix of the article. In your Advanced Search, select the 'Tests & Measures' field and the Keyword AND enter Append* in the 'Tests & Measures' field (drop-down).

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Same search strategy as PsycINFO shown above.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Educational and education-related journals. May also include tests and measurements. In the Advanced Search, enter your keyword (e.g., learning, stress, anxiety, etc) and under 'Publication Type' select "Tests/Questionnaires'.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations & Theses. The full-text of tests or measures may be found in the appendix. Search this database using a keyword (e.g., stress, depression, learning) AND (test OR assessment OR survey OR instruments OR scale)
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text for nursing & allied health journal literature. Use the Instrumentation field, available in the drop-down search menu

It is very important that you verify the reliability and validity of every test indexed or included in these sites by looking at reviews.

Center for Outcome Measurement in Brain Injury (COMBI): Featured Scales
Materials available for featured instruments often include contact information, background information, scale syllabi, administration and scoring guidelines, training and testing materials, information on scale properties, references, scale forums, and frequently asked questions. Rating forms for nonproprietary instruments are usually available for download.
HSRR - Health Services and Sciences Research Resources
HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. Run by the National Institute of Health (NIH) through the US National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Measurement Instrument Database for the Social Sciences (MIDSS).
An inventory/repository of shareable assessment instruments from across the social sciences. Administered by the Institute for Business, Social Sciences, and Public Policy at the National University of Ireland.
CDC - Measuring Intimate Partner Violence Victimization and Perpetration: A Compendium of Assessment Tools
Published by The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) it provides professionals with easy access to a set of tools with demonstrated reliability and validity for measuring the self-reported incidence and prevalence of IPV victimization and perpetration. Over 20 scales included.
Psychological Tests for Student Use
Full text of selected 'Published' tests. Maintained by a Professor of Psychology, Faculty of Health, York University
Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database
A database of full-text Unpublished and citation information for 'Published' screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders. From the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute, University of Washington
Test Link
The Test Collection at ETS (Educational Testing Service) is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, acquired from a variety of U.S. and international publishers and individual test authors. From 1990-present.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
Compilation of texts, volumes, and handbooks which include the full text of tests & Measurements. Check the Library catalog to see if we have any of the resources listed. Compiled by Helen Hough, Systems Librarian, University of Texas at Arlington Library.

Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing by American Educational Research Association; American Psychological Assocation; National Council on Measurement in Education
Call Number: LB3051 .A693 2014
ISBN: 0935302352
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
Prepared by the Joint Committee on the Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing of the American Educational Research Association, the American Psychological Association, and the National Council on Measurement in Education
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research by Kevin Corcoran; Joel Fischer
Call Number: BF176 .C66 2013
ISBN: 0199778604
Publication Date: 2013-07-22
Each instrument is reproduced in its entirety and critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them.
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology by Kurt F. Geisinger; Bruce A. Bracken; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: BF176 .A63 2013
ISBN: 9781433812279
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education.
Tests in Print V by Buros Institute Staff (Editor); Linda L. Murphy (Editor); James C. Impara (Editor); Barbara S. Plake (Editor)
Call Number: Z 5814 .E9 T47 1999
ISBN: 0910674515
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Tests in Print fills a pressing need for a comprehensive bibliography of all commercially available English language tests in print.
The Theory and Practice Assessment in Counseling by Richard J. Balkin; Gerald A. Juhnke
Call Number: BF176 .B35 2014
ISBN: 9780137017515
Publication Date: 2013-01-11
Focus on the practical, the application of the theoretical and measurement concepts of counseling assessment, by presenting a unique new guide for administering, scoring, interpreting, and communicating assessment results

Subject headings are controlled terms used to describe the main ideas (the subject or topic) of an item. All books on the same topic will be assigned the same subject heading.

To find additional books related to tests and measurements. Do a search in Library Search using some of these recommended Subject Headings

Ability-Testing
Achievement Tests
Behavioral assessment
Educational Tests and measurements
Examinations - validity
Intelligence Tests
Personality Tests
Psychological Tests
Psychotherapy - methods
Psychometrics
Questionnaires
Rating scales
Scale Analysis (Psychology)
Test Bias