In comparison to articles, books offer more thorough coverage of a topic, draw on a wider range of preexisting scholarship, and often excel in placing an argument in broader thematic and disciplinary context. Consider consulting scholarly books first in your own research. Use them to provide:
helpful introduction and overview of a topic;
comprehensive literature review that outlines the major scholars and existing points of view on a topic;
detailed study of a topic, usually broken down into manageable chapters;
extensive bibliography to guide you toward related works.
WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. View local holdings or borrow from U.S. libraries using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Two different interfaces, the first a more in-depth option via subscription (FirstSearch, via the Tulane University icon link), and the second open-access (WorldCat Local, via the orange OA icon) offer unique user experiences.
The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Library and Collections are a leading resource for the study of architecture and architectural history in the UK. Aside from books, the catalogue also indexes over 300 architectural periodicals.
A partnership of academic & research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Note: not all titles are available as full-text.
NOTE: Tulane University has switched to using a new method for logging in to HathiTrust. Researchers that have previously built a personal collection in HathiTrust will need to take action to recover access to that collection before December 1, 2024. Instructions for collection recovery can be found at https://www.hathitrust.org/tulane-university-login-changes-september-2024/
If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.
