It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Architecture Library Guide
A library guide supporting researchers in the design professions and in their communities
Oxford Bibliographies: Architecture, Planning, and Preservation uncovers a wealth of sources for the study of the built environment while also providing essential guidance in navigating the wide range of material, both print and online.
Provides access to Grove Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. Limited to 8 concurrent users.
Authoritative dictionary covers architectural history in detail, from ancient times to the present day. Includes concise biographies of hundreds of architects from history (excluding living persons). Text is complemented by over 260 line drawings, labelled cross-sections, and diagrams. These include precise drawings of typical building features, making it easy for readers to identify particular period styles.
A digital encyclopedia of US architecture. Offers brief peer-reviewed essays, images, and interactive satellite maps of notable buildings. Search by period, style, material, building type, or architectural firm. This is the digital version of The Society of Architectural Historians' Buildings of the United States book series.
An open platform that allows users to contribute information (including images) related to any building, with worldwide coverage. Basic information is publicly available for free, but a subscription may be required for more detail.
Women in Architecture is an essential work of reference.The volumes explore four themes: History and Identity; Extraordinary Practice; Wider Influence, and Employment and Education. The collection offers a holistic and non Euro-centric view of women in architecture, with good practice and inspiration from all parts of the world.
Includes material on current technology specific to residential projects for anyone designing, constructing, or modifying a residence. With additional, new content covering sustainable and green designs, sample residential drawings, residential construction code requirements, and contemporary issues in residential construction, it's a must-have resource.
A visual guide to the IBC, it highlights changes to the code for quick reference and easy navigation. It pulls out the portions of the building code that are most relevant for the architect and provides an easy-to-understand interpretation in both words and illustrations.
Call Number: NA 31 .C63 1998 Architecture Library (Reference)
Publication Date: 1998
A comprehensive summary of the vocabulary used across the building industry, from the preparation of an architectural brief, through creative and technical design, to construction technology and facilities management.
Call Number: NA 680 .E495 2004 Architecture Library (Reference)
Publication Date: 2004
Focusing on architecture from all regions of the world, this three-volume set profiles the twentieth century's vast chronicle of architectural achievements, both within and well beyond the theoretical confines of modernism.
5 volumes. Broad coverage focuses on architectural processes & design, materials, construction methods & management but also encompasses, biographies of leading architects, architectural history, articles on architectural aesthetics, literature & criticism, listings on current laws & regulations, & information on leading firms & schools.
An indispensable overview of the key players in the creation of modern space. From the period spanning the 19th to the 21st century, pioneering architects are featured with a portrait, concise biography, as well as a description of her or his important work.