U. S. CensusPolls & Surveys
This is the "Home
 " page of the "Sociology Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Sociology Research Guide  

Research Tools for Sociology
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home
 
Print Page
  Search: 
 

Looking for Journal Articles?

Given the interdisciplinary nature of sociology research, you may need to use multiple databases during your research. However, Sociological Abstracts is still the gold standard for searching the sociological literature, so be sure to start there.  If your needs are not met with this database, ask a librarian for additional suggestions specific to your research topic.

  • Sociological Abstracts  
      
    Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts  
      
    Criminal Justice Abstracts provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies.
  • Gender Watch
    A full text database of publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. A repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts
    Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

More Databases

Visit the Find Articles tab for additional database suggestions.

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Adam Beauchamp
Research & Instruction Librarian
Contact Info
504-247-1785
abeaucha@tulane.edu
Send Email
What I do in the library:
I teach people how to find and think critically about information, especially in the social sciences. E-mail me a question, or ask for a one-on-one research consultation.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip