Research Guides Home Page Turchin Business Library Home Page Matas Health Sciences Library Home Page Howard-Tilton Memorial Library Home Page Tulane University Home Page

Latino Studies  Tags: latino caribbean latin_america  

Resources about Latinos / Hispanics in the United States
Last update: Oct 26, 2009 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/latinos  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  

Google Scholar


(search results open in a new window)
 

Find Articles on Latinos/Hispanics in the US

  • Chicano Database  
      
    A comprehensive index representing all types of material for information about Latinos/Hispanics in the US. Provides extensive coverage of Mexican Americans from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
  • America: History & Life  
      
    Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
  • HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)  
      
    Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
  • HRAF World Cultures  
    A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed.
  • Hispanic Population of the United States (US Census Bureau)  
      
    A presentation that highlights past, present and future trends of the Hispanic population in the United States.
  • Alternative Press Index  
      
    Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change, including Latino presses in the US.
  • Center for Research Libraries: US Ethnic Press Database  
      
    CRL is a consortium of North American universities, of which Tulane University is a member. All materials located in the CRL catalog are available through interlibrary loan (ILL). CRL holds over 2,000 titles from the US ethnic press.
  • Hispanic American Newspapers  
      
    You can search only the Hispanic American Newspapers collection by clicking on the "select a specific collection to search" link, in the center of the page, near the top.
  • Latino Literature (Alexander Street Press)  
      
    Contains more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States.
 

Your Reference Librarian

Profile ImageSean Knowlton
Contact Info:
The Latin American Library
Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
4th Floor
(504) 247-1870
Send Email

What I do in the library:
Provide research assistance; teach people to find and evaluate information; select materials for the Latin American Library

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait