Library Guides: Streaming Resources at Tulane: Streaming Video &amp; Audio Platforms

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Focuses on gender, race, media, culture, and identity. Select titles from the Criterion Collection.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Delivers movies with unlimited access to stream full-length feature films including some top new releases, classics, documentaries and foreign films both on and off campus.
Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new window
Digitalia Film Library is a Multi-language film library of streaming videos. The Library subscribes to the Latin American Collection only.
Criterion On Demand This link opens in a new window
In the United States, Criterion has exclusive relationships with some of Hollywood's largest film Studios, such as 20th Century Studios, SearchLight Pictures, Troma Films, New Concorde, among others. Titles available in this collection are required for teaching and research off the Tulane community and are available only with 1 year access licenses with options to renew.
Lumiere (Berkeley Library of Foreign Language Film Clips) This link opens in a new window
Note: access restricted to faculty for instructional purposes. The Library of Foreign Language Film Clips (LFLFC) contains more than 18,000 clips from over 600 films in 31 languages. After acquiring a unique username and password from the Language Learning Center (402 Newcomb Hall), faculty may search the database for clips that provide culturally and contextually informed demonstrations of foreign language terms and phrases. Most clips include slowed audio tracks, descriptions of action, information about the film, and more. Faculty may request one or more clips that may then be made available in a course page via Canvas.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Focuses on gender, race, media, culture, and identity. Select titles from the Criterion Collection.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Tulane Libraries currently licenses select titles available in Docuseek2. In order to see only the films currently available, go to "My Movies" in the upper right corner to see films licensed by Tulane Libraries.
AP Archive This link opens in a new window
The photo and video archive of The Associated Press. Video content includes attached transcripts and annotations.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
The interdisciplinary streaming film platform Films on Demand provides access to films licensed by Tulane Libraries.
Open Vault (WGBH) This link opens in a new window
Video and audio recordings of shows covering historically significant events broadcast by the public television station WGBH.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of audio and video recordings preserved and digitized by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting in collaboration with WGBH and the Library of Congress. Over 68,000 media items representing 40,000 hours of radio and television are available to researchers.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Focuses on gender, race, media, culture, and identity. Select titles from the Criterion Collection.
Open Vault (WGBH) This link opens in a new window
Video and audio recordings of shows covering historically significant events broadcast by the public television station WGBH.
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of audio and video recordings preserved and digitized by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting in collaboration with WGBH and the Library of Congress. Over 68,000 media items representing 40,000 hours of radio and television are available to researchers.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Tulane Libraries currently licenses select titles available in Docuseek2. In order to see only the films currently available, go to "My Movies" in the upper right corner to see films licensed by Tulane Libraries.
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
The interdisciplinary streaming film platform Films on Demand provides access to films licensed by Tulane Libraries.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new window
Includes a deep collection of articles, interviews, productions, and documentaries.
Digital Theatre + also offers more that 100 essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides, covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques. The platform also offers more that 100 essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides, covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques.
Open Vault (WGBH) This link opens in a new window
Video and audio recordings of shows covering historically significant events broadcast by the public television station WGBH.
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Productions of core plays as well as documentaries leading playwrights, actors, and directors.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of audio and video recordings preserved and digitized by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting in collaboration with WGBH and the Library of Congress. Over 68,000 media items representing 40,000 hours of radio and television are available to researchers.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Tulane Libraries currently licenses select titles available in Docuseek2. In order to see only the films currently available, go to "My Movies" in the upper right corner to see films licensed by Tulane Libraries.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of audio and video recordings preserved and digitized by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting in collaboration with WGBH and the Library of Congress. Over 68,000 media items representing 40,000 hours of radio and television are available to researchers.

If a film is required for teaching or research, the library will work with academic film vendors to license streaming access or purchase a physical DVD. There are four options for requesting new material:

If you locate a film in Kanopy that is not currently licensed by the Library, then complete the request form at the bottom of the film's Kanopy page. Requests will be received by the Head of Media Services and processed for ordering.
If you locate a film in other platforms or do now know what platform a required film is available in, please contact the Head of Media Services, lisa Hooper, directly with your film needs.
Complete a Purchase Request form.
Contact your subject liaison.

Additional details about the scope and purpose of the film collection may be found in the Audio-Visual Media Collection Development Policy.

Streaming Audio

Music Online: Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz This link opens in a new window
Offers thousands of tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums representing hundreds of jazz artists.

Music Online: American Song This link opens in a new window
Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys.

John and Alan Lomax in Louisiana, 1934
This site is a digital resource for the study of the 1934 John and Alan Lomax trip to lower Louisiana, where they recorded a diverse array of songs in English and in Louisiana French.
National Jukebox
Contains historical recordings housed in the Library of Congress. Includes band music, classical, vocal, rag, jazz, and more.

Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
The largest and most comprehensive streaming audio collection of contemporary world music.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
A collection of sound files of the world's musical and aural traditions, based on the collection of Folkways Records.

British Library of Sounds
Listen to recordings from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
Digital National Library of Serbia - Digital Collection of Records on 78 rpm
Contains various sound recordings of National Songs Lyrics performed by some of the most famous Singers of that period, Folk Dances, Hymns, and records of Popular Melodies.

Music Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to more than 766,000 tracks.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels.
Music Online (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles.

DRAM This link opens in a new window
Access to streaming audio with complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives.

Naxos Spoken Word Library This link opens in a new window
Audio library of the spoken word. Includes fiction, non-fiction, poetry and plays.
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 300 important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company.

Tutorial - How to Embed Video in Canvas

This video uses streaming films from Kanopy and Swank as examples. The process, however, the same across all of the Library's streaming platforms. Please don't hesitate to send any questions to mediaservices@tulane.edu.

Streaming Resources at Tulane

There's an App for That

Librarian

Streaming Video

Streaming Audio

Tutorial - How to Embed Video in Canvas