Library Guides: Social Work Library Guide: Find Databases

Popular Social Work Databases

Databases are storage centers for resources. Library databases provide access to academic journals, newspapers, eBook platforms, image collections, data sets, and digitized primary sources. Tulane Libraries maintain licensed access to more than 900 library databases. Explore some of these databases by visiting the tabs above.

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Researchers seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more will find Social Work Abstracts to be an indispensable resource.

Social Science Premium Collection
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
SocIndex with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive and high quality sociology research database. The updated daily via EBSCOhost database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000 plus term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

Abstracts in Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
Covers essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. Coverage begins in 1990.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. Offers articles from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Topics include sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The bibliographic records in Urban Studies Abstracts cover urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of urban studies.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in psychology. Also includes psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology from around the world.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
PTSDpubs (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress Database) This link opens in a new window
PTSDpubs, the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Include citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present day.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data, the text of the Congressional Record, and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Tulane has access to content through 2024.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Areas of public concern and potential legislation, including health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics and more. Includes articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. 1914 - present.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text for nursing & allied health journal literature.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Covers health topics in developing and developed countries world-wide including communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology, medical entomology, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants. 1910 - present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
WHOLIS (Library & Information Networks for Knowledge Database) This link opens in a new window
Search the Library of the World Health Organization for many full text publications and documents produced by the World Health Organization.