Tulane University has a proud tradition of excellence in social welfare studies. It also has a long-standing commitment to the community. Therefore, preserving the contributions of our region's social welfare organizations and leaders is a special mission of the Louisiana Research Collection. If you know of records or papers we should preserve, please contact us.
The following is a selection of the archival holdings related to social welfare in Louisiana. For a complete listing of our holdings and for help using them, please visit us in Room 202, Jones Hall. You can also search archival collections online.
- American Social Hygiene Association Survey, Manuscripts Collection B-355, New Orleans, Louisiana, 1931. Bound typescript, 144 pages. Preliminary report of a survey of medical and educational aspects of social hygiene with a study of quackery and drug store treatment in New Orleans. The survey was made in cooperation with the U.S. Public Health Service, Orleans Parish Medical Society, and others.
- Gladys Freeman Cahn papers, 1901-1964, Papers 1940-1984 (bulk 1950s - 60s), 1.5 linear feet (3 manuscripts boxes). Cahn (Mrs. Moise S. Cahn) was active in social welfare work in New Orleans, especially with the National Council for Jewish Women. The papers consist of speeches, reports, and notes mostly for the NCJW.
- Christian Woman's Exchange, LA resident home and handicraft shop, 1,304 items, including 113 volumes (1881-1967)
- Community Chest of New Orleans, 71 volumes (1924-1957)
- Community Service Center, Manuscripts Collection 726, 1964-75, 4 linear feet (nine manuscripts boxes). Records of a private, non-profit charitable organization that assists former inmates and works to decrease recidivism.
- Council of Social Agencies of New Orleans, 1921-1966 (bulk 1950-1966), c. 50 linear feet (97 manuscripts boxes). An umbrella organization, it conducted needs-studies and coordinated activities of societies that provided assistance directly to individuals.
- Female Orphan Society. See Manuscripts Collection 69, Records of the Poydras Home. The Female Orphan Society was chartered in 1817.
- Ida Weis Friend papers, Manuscripts Collection 287, 1868-1963, n.d. 11 linear feet (18 manuscripts boxes). Papers, club records, journals, clippings, and other documents pertaining to Ida Weis Friend, a New Orleans native active in civic and social affairs.
- Gaudet Episcopal School and Home, Manuscripts Collection 558-D (series D of the Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana Records), 1935-1959, 2 volumes.
- Financial records and general correspondence.
- Charter and Constitution of the German Evangelical Lutheran Bethlehem Orphan Asylum Association, Manuscripts Collection M-896, 1 item.
- Charter and Constitution of the German Lutheran Orphan Society, Manuscripts Collection 119, (part of the records of the German Lutheran Church), 1866, 1 item.
- Jewish Children's Home, Manuscripts Collection 180, 1870-1967 (bulk 1940-1953),11,424 items, including 21 volumes. Operated as an orphanage until 1946; thereafter, provided regional child care services.
- Jewish Federation of Greater New Orleans, 1913 - present, 100 linear feet.
- Kingsley House, NO settlement house, ca. 49,000 items (1896-1969)
- Mount Carmel, Manuscripts Collection M-237, 1869, 1 item. List of names and ages of girls protected by the Sisters of Mount Carmel.
- Orleans Parish Neighborhood Council, ca. 26 cu.ft (1939-1966)
- John Page papers, Manuscripts Collection 858, 1836-1933 (bulk 1836-1849), 1 linear foot (2 manuscripts boxes). Diary and papers of John Page, superintendent of Lafayette Asylum for Destitute Boys in New Orleans, 1836-1849 (4 manuscript volumes). Also includes The Orphan Boy, the newsletter of the asylum, 1839, which gives a history of the institution, and typed excerpts from the newsletter.
- Poydras Home, NO orphanage and nursing home, 31,350 items, including 90 volumes (1817-1960)
- Protestant Children's Home, Manuscripts Collection 239, 1844-1969 (bule 1953-1967), 231 pieces and 55 volumes. Contains financial papers including land transfers and rental contracts, minute books of managers and associations, and children's registry.
- Protestant Episcopal Children's Home, Manuscripts Collection 558-C (series C of the Episcopal Diocese of Louisiana Records), 19 volumes.
- Societe de Secours Mutuels des Enfants de la France (1908-1918). See Society Francaise, Manuscripts Collection 47, folder 7.
- Traveler's Aid Society of New Orleans, Manuscripts Collection 365, 1917 [1940-1969]-; 25 linear feet (forty manuscripts boxes and 26 volumes).
- Records of the New Orleans section of a national organization created to assist travelers in need.
- de la Vergne family papers, Manuscripts Collection 146, "Fatherless Children of France" section, 1917-1930, box 1 folders 1-16. Correspondence regarding adoption between Bussiere Rouen, treasurer of the New Orleans committee of the Fatherless Children of France, and orphan sponsors. Also includes correspondence between the New Orleans committee and the New York headquarters.
- Waldo Burton Memorial Boys Home, Manuscripts Collection 202, 687 items plus 82 volumes (1824-1965).
- YWCA of New Orleans, ca. 84 cu.ft. (1911-1966)
To use these materials or to learn what other archival collections we preserve, please visit the Schiro Reading Room, Room 202, Jones Hall.
