Library Guides: News and Newspapers: Top Picks in News

Find Newspapers

Tip 1: Looking for a specific newspaper or magazine? Use Library Search - Advanced Search and enter the newspaper title, select "Newspapers" as the Resource Type, and search. For magazines and weekly news publications, select "Journals" as the Resource Type. Print and electronic options will be presented when available.

Tip 2: Want to see all news sources from a particular city, state, or country available at Tulane University Libraries? Use Library Search - Advanced Search to enter the desired location (e.g. "New York," "Louisiana," or "Brazil") and the keyword Newspapers to your search.

Top Picks

Here are some of our most heavily used databases of historical news coverage. For a more comprehensive list of our historical newspaper collections, go to Historical Newspaper Databases.

Times-Picayune & Daily Picayune:1837-2002 (New Orleans, La.) - Newsbank
Access full text and full-page image scans of The Picayune, the Daily Picayune, and the Times-Picayune from 1837 through 2002.
America's Historical Newspapers
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
A portal to access all the ProQuest news databases—both historical and current—available through Tulane University Libraries. Encompasses the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Latin American Newsstream, Le Monde, Historical Black newspapers, Jewish American press, and more.

Tulane provides access to:
- The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)
- The American Israelite (1854-1874)
- The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942)
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010)
- The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010)
- Baltimore Sun (1837-1998)
- The Boston Globe (1872-1993)
- Chicago Defender (1909-2010)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1998, 2008-present)
- Civil War Era Newspapers & Pamphlets
- The Christian Science Monitor (1908-present)
- Cleveland Call and Post (1932-2010)
- Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)
- The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003)
- The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2022)
- The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
- The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)
- The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
- Latin American Newsstream
- Le Monde (1944-2000)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010)
- Los Angeles Times (2008-present)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010)
- The New York Times (1851-present)
- New York Tribune (1841-1922)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010)
- Philadelphia Tribune (1841-1922)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
- The Scotsman (1817-1950)
- The Times of India (1838-2012)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-2013)
- The Washington Post (1877-current)
- U.S. Hispanic Newsstream
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States, including the New Orleans Daily Creole, New Orleans Tribune, Weekly Louisianian and the Weekly Pelican.
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans of The New York Times with searchable full text of every available issue from 1851 to 2020. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.

Here are some of our most heavily used databases of current national news coverage. For more of the latest news, select Current News from the left menu.

Nexis Uni
Features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.
Access World News - Current
More than 12,000 U.S. and global news sources in dozens of languages. Coverage spans the late 20th century to the present day, with news updated daily.
Factiva
Pulls together full-text coverage of newspapers, periodicals, business news, company reports, industry reports, and financial data compiled by Dow-Jones and Reuters. NOTE: Factiva allows for a maximum of 8 concurrent users.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus offers English-language news from nearly 500 U.S. newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, and major metropolitan newspapers. It also includes full text for more than 600 international newspapers, such as The Sydney Morning Herald, Hindustan Times, The Times (U.K.), Bangkok Post, Toronto Star, The Manila Times, The Jordan Times, Kuwait Times, and Hindustan Times. The database features more than 1.6 million television and radio news transcripts from top sources like ABC News (American), CBC (Canadian) CBS News, CNBC, CNN, MSNBC, and PBS.
E&E News
Provides up-to-date journalism on energy and environmental issues that keep professionals informed on the following topics: Air & Water Pollution; Climate Policy & Politics; Congress & Federal Agencies; Corporate Sustainability; Cybersecurity; Electric Utilities Oil, Natural Gas, Coal, Nuclear & Renewables; Public Lands & Endangered Species; Regulations & Legal Actions; Science & Technology Innovation; State Legislation & Issues; and Transportation & Infrastructure.

Our most frequently searched newspaper titles include:

New York Times (ProQuest Recent Newspapers)
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The New York Times from 2008 to 30 days before the present date. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date. For the most current online issues of The New York Times Online and a login for the app, visit the following link to create an easy access, online Academic Pass: https://libguides.tulane.edu/news_newspapers/NYTimes

Wall Street Journal
Browse by date or search full text, available 1984 - present.

Times-Picayune: 1989-Present (New Orleans, La.) - Newsbank
Includes Times-Picayune content from 1989 to the present. All years are text-searchable. Full-page image scans of the print edition are available for 2017-current.

For additional sources of Louisiana news, both current and historical, select Louisiana News from the left menu.

Times-Picayune: 1989-Present (New Orleans, La.) - Newsbank
Includes Times-Picayune content from 1989 to the present. All years are text-searchable. Full-page image scans of the print edition are available for 2017-current.

New Orleans Advocate
Search and browse text of the New Orleans Advocate from 2011 to current issues. This database includes all content published on nola.com.
The Gambit
Free alternative weekly newspaper, now part of nola.com.To search the text archive of The Gambit from 2001 to present, use this link. Print holdings from 1980- 2022 are available in the Louisiana Research Collection; use the book icon to view more information.
Louisiana Weekly (New Orleans, La)
Emphasizes topics of interest to the African American community, especially in the New Orleans area and south Louisiana since 1925. Online archive 2011-. Print holdings available in the Louisiana Research Collection.
New Orleans CityBusiness
Covers New Orleans business news, including banking, health care, economic development, commercial real estate, high-tech industries, and community events. Database coverage: 1985 - present (delayed 1 week).

Turchin Business Library

News and Newspapers

Virtual Research Help

Find Newspapers

Top Picks