A guide to select article databases, library resources, links, and tips for researchers to succeed in finding, accessing, and managing quality information sources.
The Società Italiana di Mutua Beneficenza Cefalutana was founded in New Orleans, Louisiana, on June 19, 1887, and incorporated on August 10, 1887. The original purpose of the Società Cefalutana is for mutual benefit (Mutua Beneficenza) of the many immigrants who came from Cefalu`. They assisted each other in times of illness, death, financial need, language/cultural difficulties, etc. These early members, working together in a true spirit of brotherhood with their “paisani," enabled the mainstreaming of the entire group into American society.
General full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
A partnership of academic & research institutions offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Note: not all titles are available as full-text.
NOTE: Tulane University has switched to using a new method for logging in to HathiTrust. Researchers that have previously built a personal collection in HathiTrust will need to take action to recover access to that collection before December 1, 2024. Instructions for collection recovery can be found at https://www.hathitrust.org/tulane-university-login-changes-september-2024/
Primary source database with materials relating to global indigenous peoples, LGBTQ+ communities, refugees and migration, and social justice, as well as African American history.
Tulane has access to the following History Commons modules:
- Indigenous Peoples Social Justice and Culture
- LGBTQ+ Social Justice and Culture
- Refugees, Migration, and Borders Social Justice and Culture
- African American Newspapers parts I-XIIS (formerly Accessible Archives)
- Civil War Collection Part 1, A Newspaper Perspective
- The Liberator, 1831-1865
- The South Carolina Gazette, 1732-1780
- The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
- The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Record
- Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets
- Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman
- Twelve Years a Slave
- The Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780
Access 500+ U.S. newspapers published between 1800 and 1900, many published in what were, at the time, territories. Covers a broad spectrum with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.
La Voce Coloniale, began publication in New Orleans, La., about 1915, and was intended for Italian-Americans living in the New Orleans area. Beginning in 1962 the newspaper included articles of interest to the area's Latin-American community, and was tri-lingual with material in Italian, English and Spanish. The title of the newspaper was changed several times with the following variations: Italo-American News (January 1, 1955 - May-June 1962), Italian-American International Review (July, 1962 - February, 1963), and The International Review (March, 1963 - July, 1964).
Using vignettes, family histories, and census as well as other historical records, this book examines how Italian culture shaped the lives of the immigrants to Louisiana and, in turn, how experiences in Louisiana modified the Old World values and culture the Italians brought with them.
An Extreme Prejudice portrays Italian immigrants as victims of their own pursuit of happiness. Encouraged to come to Louisiana to increase the white population, most soon found themselves the victims of racial prejudice and deadly violence. This book chronicles the international, national, and local politics involved with our melting-pot nation becoming more tolerant of ethnic differences. In the end, when crimes against Italians proved too daunting, white citizens actively and publicly came to their aid. The Italian work ethic and strong desire to become part of the American dream is now a part of the rich history of New Orleans and Louisiana.
"The mere fact that the testimony showed this woman came from Sicily can in no sense be taken as conclusive that she was therefore a white woman, or that she was not a negro or a descendant of a negro."
Provides access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, Brazil, and more.
Vendetta (motion picture)
by
Bread and Respect: the Italians of Louisiana
by
An Extreme Prejudice
by
La strage di New Orleans
by
Grande dizionario della lingua italiana
by
Dizionario della lingua italiana
by
