Library Guides: Earth &amp; Environmental Sciences Library Guide: Maps, Data & Images

Maps

Historical Topographic Maps (USGS)
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) USGS National Geospatial Program is converting historical printed topographic quadrangles to an electronic format (GeoPDF).
USGS National Map Viewer
The USGS National Geospatial Program (NGP), The Download imagery, elevation data, land cover, and some boundary files via the USGS' web mapping interface
USGS Map Locator & Downloader
Find, Order, or Download FREE US Topo and Historical Topographic Maps!
GeoMapApp
An earth science exploration and visualization application that is continually being expanded as part of the Marine Geoscience Data System (MGDS) at Columbia University.

Louisiana Topographic Maps
Books, Government Documents, and Maps available through Tulane Library
Libre Map Project
Louisiana Map and GIS Data
Louisiana Geological Survey Maps
Includes the Official Stratigraphic Charts of Louisiana

ArcGIS at Tulane

Howard-Tilton Library computers have ArcGIS Reader to view GIS files
Boggs 101 and 102 have the full software: ArcGIS for desktop, 3D analyst, and spatial analyst plugins and ARC GIS for desktop standard 10.3.
Tidewater Computer Labs - School of Public Health & Tropic Medicine
EENS Computer Laboratory, The department's computer lab is primarily used by graduate students for research purposes,

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
by Kay P Maye Last Updated Dec 16, 2024 5801 views this year

LA Department of Transportation & Development GIS
Includes Cloud Based DOTD GIS Platform, Interactive Web Sites,and the The Geodatabase of Louisiana
LDEQ Interactive Mapping Application
The GIS Center provides support to all GIS users within Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality and constructs maps as requested by LDEQ personnel.
NOAA Geospatial data server
Louisiana Remote Sensing and Sustainable Growth
Goal of promoting the sustainable growth and development in coastal areas along the Gulf of Mexico.

Find and Share Data

Registry of Research Data Repositories: re3data.org [formerly Databib]
A global registry covering different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.
Marine Geoscience Data System
The Marine Geoscience Data System (MGDS) provides a suite of tools and services for free public access to marine geoscience research data acquired throughout the global oceans and adjoining continental margins
DOE Data Explorer
Discover science, technology, engineering research and data collections from the US Department of Energy
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
NOAA's former three data centers have merged into the National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI).
Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative Information and Data Cooperative
The Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative Information and Data Cooperative (GRIIDC) ensures a data and information legacy that promotes continual scientific discovery and public awareness of the Gulf of Mexico Ecosystem.
Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services
offers operational data in near-real time and historic contexts. Focus is on tides and currents but also includes information on harmful algal blooms and weather, etc
The National Map (USGS)
A collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. Includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.
World Ocean Database (NOAA)
The World Ocean Database (WOD) provides access to scientifically quality-controlled global ocean profile and plankton data that includes measured in situ variables gathered since 1773.
The Digital Coast - NOAA
Data sets range from economic data to satellite imagery. The site contains visualization tools, predictive tools, and tools that make data easier to find and use. Training courses are available online or can be brought to the user’s location

Earth & Environmental Sciences Library Guide

Photos & Images

Maps

Find and Share Data