Demographics, Data & Statistics Library Guide

The UCR provides nationwide statistics of crime based on the voluntary submission of city, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies throughout the country.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics is the United States primary source for criminal justice statistics. They collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems.

Government agency responsible for the United States Census, and for gathering national demographic and economic data. As part of the United States Department of Commerce, the Census Bureau serves as a leading source of data about America's people and economy.

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces all of laws related to discrimination in the areas of civil rights, gender, age, employment, disabilities and sexual orientation. Provides official enforcement and litigation statistics for employment discrimination and resolutions, employment statistics and equal employment opportunity data.

Government agency responsible for enforcing the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States.

A part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the National Institute on Drug Abuse provides data and information on drug abuse and addiction.

The Nation's one-stop resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment.

This site contains both historical and current NIPA (National Income and Product Accounts) tables, state and regional data, and US international trade data released on a regular basis by the BEA. Data are available either in html or pdf format.

The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the federal government's principal fact-finding agency in the field of labor economics and statistics. It collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates important data to the public, government, business, and labor.

Regularly updated US economic data and statistics such as housing starts, retail merchant sales, international durable goods orders.

Federal Reserve System statistics and historical data includes previously published information and statistics of U.S bank assets and liabilities, business finance, exchange rates and international data, flow of funds accounts, household finance, industrial activity, interest rates, money stock and reserve balances.

a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe And measure elements of the U.S. tax system.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education

Published reports filed by Senate, House of Representatives and Presidential campaigns that list how much each campaign has raised and spent. Includes lists of all donors over $200, along with each donor's home address, employer and job title.

The principal fact-finding agency for the U.S. Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

United States Department of Labor agency charged with advocating on behalf of America’s working women. Created by law in 1920 to formulate standards and policies to promote the welfare of wage-earning women, improve their working conditions, increase their efficiency, and advance their opportunities for profitable employment.

Department of Labor agency charged with ensuring safe and healthful working conditions, enforcing standards and providing training, outreach, education and assistance.

EPA leads the nation's environmental science, research, education and assessment efforts. The mission of the Environmental Protection Agency is to protect human health and the environment.

Gathers worldwide environmental data about the oceans, earth, air, space, and sun and their interactions to describe and predict the state of the physical environment. In fulfillment of this mission, the National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Informa

Collects and maintains data on the quality, availability, and use of the Nation's water, including streamflow data for flood forecasting; and streamflow data that help determine water allocations for agriculture, industry, and domestic supply.

Collects remotely-sensed data to improve our understanding of and contribute to improved predictive capability for climate, weather, and natural hazards. Research and satellite programs study atmospheric chemistry and ozone, ocean surface height and winds

The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.

Provides state and national data on adoption and foster care, child abuse and neglect, and child welfare. The Children's Bureau also funds research in collaboration with other organizations.

A working group of Federal agencies that collect, analyze, and report data on issues related to children and families. The Forum has partners from 22 Federal agencies as well as partners in private research organizations.

A primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture. With over 350 employees, ERS conducts a research program to inform public and private decisionmaking on economic and policy issues involving food, farming, natural resources, and rural development.

FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries.

The Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) works to improve foreign market access for U.S. products, build new markets, improve the competitive position of U.S. agriculture in the global marketplace, and provide food aid and technical assistance to foreign countries. Provides statistical market information, trade data and statistics

Provides timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture. Part of the United States Department of Agriculture.

AHRQ offers robust data sources that may be of interest to researchers, clinicians, purchasers, policymakers, or consumers.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States.

The Department (HHS) is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

Principal health statistics agency of the Centers of Disease Control (CDC).

Department of Labor agency charged with ensuring safe and healthful working conditions, enforcing standards and providing training, outreach, education and assistance.

Official U.S. Government statistics on immigration. Provides data & statistics, publications, data standards and definitions.

Produced by the Library of Congress. Provides an introduction to the study of immigration to the United States. Focuses only on the immigrant groups that arrived in greatest numbers during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

PRM has primary responsibility for formulating policies on population, refugees, and migration, and for administering U.S. refugee assistance and admissions programs.

The investigative branch of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

Provides immigration records and ship passenger arrival records. as well as links to other immigration resources.

We are responsible for the administration of immigration and naturalization adjudication functions and establishing immigration services policies and priorities.(Now part of the Department of Homeland Security)

The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

A compilation of both government and academic sites containing poverty statistics.

The Social Security Administration is an independent government agency responsible for the Social Security System.

The U.S Census Bureau provides recent data on income, poverty, and health insurance coverage in the United States (2007). Also provides detailed current and historical tables showing poverty over time.

Provides data collection, analysis, and reporting of all U.S. transportation related data. Also includes data for information technology and geographic information systems.