Triggered by:
Subscription renewal deadline
Budget reduction targets
Evidence of declining use
Collect COUNTER reports (searches, full-text downloads, turnaways)
For non-COUNTER compliant resources, use reports from vendor
Calculate Cost per Use (CPU):
CPU = Annual Cost ÷ (Full-text downloads + successful searches)
Trends:
Usage increasing → Retain
Usage Sustained Over Time → Retain
Usage declining/low → Proceed
How to find the data:
COUNTER and vendor can be requested from ERM. Visit the Electronic Item Use page to learn more.
Cost data can be found in Alma or requested directly from ERM.
Use tools like Excel to calculate aggregate values.
Compare database CPU against peer CPU in same subject area
Compare median CPU across all similar resources
Alternatively, you may choose to compare the database CPU to the median CPU of other databases from a particular vendor
Thresholds:
Higher than peer CPU median and an outlier → Proceed
Higher than peer CPU median but not an outlier → Watch or Proceed depending on budget constraints
Lower than peer CPU median→ Likely retain
How to find the data:
COUNTER data can be requested from ERM. Visit the Electronic Item Use page to learn more.
Cost data can be found in Alma or requested directly from ERM.
Use tools like Excel to calculate aggregate values.
Does the database provide:
Exclusive journals/books/data?
Specialized tools?
Thresholds:
<30% unique content → Cancellation candidate
How to find data:
The Resource and Data Analyst can help pull resource name and availability for resources in databases.
Check database title lists on vendor websites.
Engage faculty, staff, and student researchers
Contact researchers via email or survey to learn more about their research interest
Check faculty webpages to review research interests
Record consultation data that reflects researcher interests
Keep track of patron interests using the Patron Interest Matrix or a similar tool
Required for accreditation or curriculum?
Examples:
CINAHL for Nursing accreditation
Business Source Complete for Business accreditation
If required → Retain
Check for:
Open access equivalents
Consortial discounts/agreements
Interlibrary loan feasibility
| Factor | Retain | Cancel | Watch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost-per-use | ≤ subject median | > subject outlier median | > subject Q4 |
| Uniqueness | High | Low (duplicates across print content or from other libraries) / Better access in other databases | Moderate |
| Researcher need | High | Low | Medium |
| Accreditation | Required | Not required | Optional |
| Alternatives | None | Strong | Partial |
Retain: Essential for teaching, accreditation, or unique content
Cancel: Low use, high cost, duplicative, not required
Watch: High cost, low use, faculty need OR low cost, low use, faculty need
Replace: Similar resource available at lower cost
