Classical Studies Library Guide

Collection of online versions of standard Oxford reference works in classical studies, which can be searched as a group.

Titles include: The Oxford Classical Dictionary; The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization; The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature; Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World; Who's Who in the Classical World; The Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary (Latin-English and English-Latin); and The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture.

An updated digital version of the standard Ancient Greek-English dictionary, developed as part of the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) project. The project's participants have set out to produce "a fully corrected and reliably accessible online version, with links to TLG texts" (from the TLG site, About: The Liddell-Scott Jones Lexicon, 25 February 2014). In addition to the Greek headwords, both English and Greek words within the entries are searchable.

The Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics (EAGLL) brings together the latest research from a range of disciplines that contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It covers all aspects of the history and study of Ancient Greek, comprising detailed descriptions of the language from Proto-Greek to koinē.

An authoritative resource on visual arts in ancient Greece and Rome, covering art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites, and stylistic developments.

Aramaic dictionary project prepared by an international team of scholars, headquartered at Hebrew Union College. Includes lexical databases, bibliographies, and images of some primary texts. A work in progress.

Online version of the standard German classical studies encyclopedia: Der neue Pauly : Enzyklopädie der Antike (c1996-c2003).

Covers early European civilizations, from the prehistoric Neolithic period through ancient Greece and Rome and through the early Middle Ages. Arranged by period, and indexed. Includes maps, illustrations, and time chart.

Contains brief entries on archaeological principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms. Describes the archaeology of key ancient sites.

An authoritative dictionary covering all fields of art; includes extensive coverage of ancient art.

Overview of archaeology as a discipline (theory, methodology, etc.) and of archaeological periods, sites, and resources. Alphabetically arranged, with cross-references and index.