Classical Studies Library Guide

Website of the interdisciplinary Ancient World Mapping Center at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Includes links to free maps, relevant articles about cartography, publication announcements, and more, with placename index.

Gateway to videos and audio clips on archaeology worldwide, including many on the ancient period, and to other relevant Web resources such as newsfeeds and blogs. Includes interviews, TV program listings. (Archaeological Legacy Institute)

Includes image databases, dictionary, and bibliographies for classical archaeology, particularly Greek art, architecture, history, myth, and geography. Incorporates CVA (Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum) Online, illustrated catalogues of ancient vases.

Illustrated catalogue of over 100,000 ancient vases held in international collections. May be browsed or searched, including advanced search terms for fabric, shape, and technique. Includes multilingual thesaurus.

The DARMC project "makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds." Building on the mapping of the Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World (Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2000), the Harvard-based project aims to build geodatabases that use more precise decimal degrees of latitude and longitude. Roman provinces, cities, bishoprics, and a wide range of types of features can be identified on interactive maps (still in beta). A bibliography and list of map sources are provided, as well as links to other relevant historical geodatabases.

The Global Egyptian Museum is a project to collect digital images of Ancient Egyptian objects to build a global virtual museum. The originals are housed in separate collections around the world; the goal is to represent 850 collections found in 69 different countries. Many images are accompanied by audio explanations or video clips. A glossary is provided. Searches can be on material type, period, area (Egypt, Nubia, other) and museum location. The Advanced Mode supports searches on additional elements such as name of ruler and museum inventory number.
An ongoing project under the auspices of the International Committee for Egyptology.

English-language version of the Université de Caen site that provides a description and virtual reconstruction of the plaster scale model of 4th-century Rome (period of Constantine) held at that French university.

Digital map and inventory of Hittite sites, with images of major archaeological finds.

A digital geospatial project designed to investigate communication and travel throughout the Roman Empire, ca. 200 CE and later. As the project site's main page describes it, "By simulating movement along the principal routes of the Roman road network, the main navigable rivers, and hundreds of sea routes in the Mediterranean, Black Sea and coastal Atlantic, this interactive model reconstructs the duration and financial cost of travel in antiquity." The model includes cities and other sites (751 total) connected by networks of roads, navigable rivers and canals, and sea routes.

Dedicated to exploring and working to reconstruct the Severan Marble Plan of Rome through digital technologies. Includes database and images of map fragments as well as background information.

Includes interactive atlases of the ancient Egyptian Theban Necropolis and Valley of the Kings; detailed site-by-site information; illustrated articles; and archaeological progress reports.

This is a website dedicated to Trajan’s Column in Rome (inaugurated in AD 113) and based on Jon Coulston’s photographic archive. The first stage is a searchable image database of the helical frieze of the Column shaft. As the site expands it will encompass the reliefs of the Column pedestal and the buildings of the wider monumental complex. It also introduces numbering systems for the 2,662 human figures on the frieze and the 542 items of barbarian equipment on the pedestal.