Collects scholarly works relating to every aspect of Greek and Roman civilization (authors and texts; literature; linguistics; political, economic, and social history; attitudes and daily life; religion; cultural and artistic life; law; philosophy; science and technology; and the history of classical studies). Significant space is accorded to the auxiliary disciplines of archaeology, epigraphy, numismatics, papyrology and paleography.
Consists of the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature, Aristoteles Latinus Database, Monumenta Germaniae Historica, Cross Database Search tool, Library of Latin Texts - Series A, and Library of Latin Texts - Series B.
Brings together the latest research from a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek. It is a useful research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature.
Online bibliography, international in scope, covering classical studies, introduced by a "quick start guide." The site also includes links to numismatic and epigraphic resources of the Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt.
‘Jacoby’ is short for die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker (FGrHist, or FGrH), a collection of ancient Greek historic texts that were lost, except for fragments (citations, extracts and summaries) found in other sources. Most of these fragments are attributed to a particular author and/or work in the source text, but some remain anonymous and can only be categorized by their subject matter. Consequently most entries in Jacoby Online focus on a lost author, but some entries contain anonymous fragments on a particular era or region, or even a single fragmentary text from a papyrus or manuscript.
A database for searching cumulative Nestor bibliographies, 1957-2004. The primary focus is the Aegean region, from the Palaeolithic through the end of the Geometric period.
Oxford Scholarship Classical Studies is now part of Oxford Academic with access to full text of select titles published via Oxford University Publishing and affiliated publishers. The resource provides access to the full text of many key and recent Oxford University Press publications on Greek and Latin literature and culture, and Ancient History. It also contains book and chapter abstracts. From the Oxford Academic main page, go to Subject dropdown>Arts and Humanities>Classical Studies. NOTE: We do not subscribe to ALL CONTENT.
Extensive annotated bibliographies on topics in classical studies, prepared by participating scholars. Each section lists and describes the resources identified as the most important for that area, including books, journals, Websites, etc.
For each section, compilers have also written an introductory essay that provides historical and theoretical background. There are live links to free online resources, as well as to online Oxford titles to which we subscribe.
Collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.
Extensive and growing database of texts written in Greek, particularly ancient and medieval works, based on scholarly editions. They can be displayed in Greek fonts or the Roman alphabet; there are links to English translations. NOTE: users must create an account in order to access the subscription portion of this resource
The largest Latin dictionary in the world covering all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).
A digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Books come from major academic publishers as well as small university presses known for high research impact.
A collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day. It runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
A compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases, this resource is an extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
Art & Architecture Complete
This link opens in a new windowFull-text and indexing for art journals, magazines and books as well as images. Subjects cover fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
Searchable index of international art journals published from 1929-1984. Description of each journal includes publication information, frequency of publication, and a list of issues. Some records contain article titles and links to the full text if available.
Features hundreds of journals mainly covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. Contains peer-reviewed journal articles and selected trade and magazine titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. Many materials available as full text or through links to other TU full-text holdings. Also includes a small number of ebooks.
A full-text collection of major religion and theology journals selected by members of Atla, an organization dedicated to promoting worldwide scholarly communication in religion and theology. Coverage begins in 1949.
A listing of journal articles on architecture and design since 1934, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Also contains references to obituary citations.
Les Éditions Champion Électronique proposent aux bibliothèques universitaires, aux centres de recherche et de lecture publique l’accès à des bases de données dans les domaines de la littérature et des sciences humaines. Littératures françaises et francophones (Europe, Afrique, Océan Indien, Amériques, Asie) Littérature antique (Patrologia græca). Dictionnaires et encyclopédies en langue française, du 9e siècle à nos jours. Les enseignants, universitaires, chercheurs, étudiants, élèves et amateurs ont ainsi à leur disposition des dizaines de milliers d'ouvrages de référence en mode texte, facilement interrogeables, de façon simple ou spécialisée, grâce à un balisage intégral des données et à un puissant moteur de recherche spécialisé dans les bases de données littéraires.
A digitized collection of major French historical publications: bibliographies, dictionaries, grammar books, encyclopedias, works of French and Francophone literature. Includes L'Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des connoissances humaines (Encyclopédie d'Yverdon), among other titles.
The DigiZeitschriften Archive offers access to over 100 core research journals published in German in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. It is sponsored by the German Research Foundation.
NOTE: The DigiZeitschriften platform will be shut down at the end of 2025 and will no longer be available as of January 1, 2026. There will be no successor platform. Parts of the DigiZeitschriften database which were previously freely available can be found at Heidelberg University Library's digital holdings, ScriptaPedagogica, the Digitized collections of the Berlin State Library, Digital Collections at the University Library of Frankfurt am Main, and the Digital Theology collection at the University Library of Tubingen.
eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database with nearly 60,000 pages of information on all aspects of the world's prehistoric traditions. It is organized by archaeological tradition and according to the OCM subject classification system.
(Formerly BHI: British Humanities Index). International abstracts and index for research in the humanities, indexes respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English-speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK.
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Includes: Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism 1400 - 1800, Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Literature Criticism.
Part of Oxford Reference- this contains comprehensive resources for the study of the Bible and biblical history. It includes Biblical texts, authoritative reference works, and tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online and Oxford Islamic Studies Online have retired. Content from Oxford Biblical Studies Online or Oxford Islamic Studies Online has now moved to Oxford Reference, Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford Scholarship Online, or Oxford's What Everyone Needs to Know.
Over 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. NOTE: Access to Patrologiae Graecae is currently on-campus ONLY.
Online version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from Books and e-Booksjournals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Access full-text, high-quality scholarly content (journals and books) in the humanities and social sciences as published by select leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
