Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, Colonial Government and Abolition, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
A cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Stretching from Jamaica and the Bahamas to Trinidad and Tobago, Colonial Caribbean makes available materials from 27 Colonial Office file classes from The National Archives, UK. Covering the history of the various territories under British colonial governance from 1624 to 1870, this resource includes administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, Colonial Government and Abolition, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.
Digital facsimiles of objects held at the University of the West Indies St. Augustine Campus, Trinidad, including posters, ephemera, photographs, manuscripts, and more.
This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women. This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Scholarly Resources microfilm collection entitled The Women’s Movement in Cuba, 1898-1958: The Stoner Collection on Cuban Feminism.
The International Digital Ephemera Project is an initiative to digitize, preserve and provide broad public access to print, images, multimedia, and social networking resources produced worldwide. Currently includes several Cuban collections.
Collaboration between the University of Florida and Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí (BNJM) that includes digital collections of archives and manuscripts, monographs, ephemera, maps, law, periodicals, theses and dissertations, Judaica, thinkers & intellectual leaders, and U.S. Government Publications about Cuba.
The CUNY Dominican Studies Institute has three major digital projects--Dominican Music in the United States, First Blacks in the Americas, and Dominican Veterans in World War II--and other online resources.
A place where researchers, academics, teachers, students, genealogists, filmmakers, and the community at large find primary (historical documents) and secondary sources about the history and culture of the Puerto Rican diaspora.
The United States annexed Puerto Rico in the aftermath of the Spanish-American War of 1898 and has since governed the island as an unincorporated territory. Since 1898, Congress has debated upwards of 100 bills and enacted 11 laws extending four distinct types of citizenship to Puerto Rico. This website provides a documentary history of the federal citizenship legislation for Puerto Rico.
The Delis Negrón digital archive captures the life and legacy of the Puerto Rican writer born in 1901, who was also director, editor, poet, writer, English professor and activist throughout his residency in south Texas and Mexico City during the twentieth century.
Palante (1970 - 1976) was a bilingual newspaper published by the Young Lords Party in New York City. Palante focused on the Puerto Rican independence movement, the oppression of Puerto Ricans and other Latinos in the United States, and global struggles for liberation.
The URL opens to the World Newspaper Archive's search page for the combined Latin American Newspapers Series 1 & 2 gateway page. Series 1 includes more than 35 nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin American newspapers, featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere Series 2 features over 250 Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Latin American Newspapers. Featuring titles from: Belize, Brazil, Columbia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay.
ProQuest Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Use the "Publications" tab to see which newspapers and coverage the database includes.
This vast collection with world coverage includes 50 news sources from South America, 16 from Central America, 16 from the Caribbean, and 12 from Mexico. Use the map or A-Z Source List to see which news sources are included in this database.
CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
The Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) includes thousands of titles of journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters published both in and outside Cuba, from colonial times to the present. The digital collection of CHC Periodicals focuses primarily on works published before 1923 that are most unique to their holdings.
Official newspaper of Cuba's communist party in English. The Center for Research Libraries has issues digitized from 1966-1967. Email LAL@tulane.edu for information on accessing print copies.
This database offers full page and article image scans of The New York Times with searchable full text of every available issue from 1851 to 2020. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
This database offers full page and article image scans with searchable full text of every available issue of The Washington Post from 1877 to 2008. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States, including the New Orleans Daily Creole, New Orleans Tribune, Weekly Louisianian and the Weekly Pelican.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
History Commons (formerly Accessible Archives) is a historical newspaper and primary source database with strengths in early U.S. History and the history of slavery and abolition. Tulane has access to the following modules: African American Newspapers parts I-XIIS; Civil War Collection Part 1, A Newspaper Perspective; The Liberator, 1831-1865; The South Carolina Gazette, 1732-1780; The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800; The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue; Pennsylvania Newspaper Record; Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets; Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman; Twelve Years a Slave; and The Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780.
Historical Black Newspapers (ProQuest) allows you to access full text articles in the: Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2010; Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-2010; Cleveland Call and Post, 1934-2009; Los Angeles Sentinel, 1946-2010; New Journal and Guide (Norfolk, VA), 1921-2010; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2010; and Pittsburgh Courier, 1955-2010. Individual titles may also be searched separately.
This resource covers the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to 1980 as recorded by the news media. It is sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals.
The Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers covers thematic content focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Rare and relevant books and newspapers –including rare anarchist newspapers – are presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing.
Palante (1970 - 1976) was a bilingual newspaper published by the Young Lords Party in New York City. Palante focused on the Puerto Rican independence movement, the oppression of Puerto Ricans and other Latinos in the United States, and global struggles for liberation.
ProQuest, in partnership with The National Security Archive, produce the Digital National Security Archive, the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Collections cover the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century, with access to more than 150,000 indexed, declassified government documents. The DNSA is comprised of many database collections which can be searched individually or together.
The resource comprises the following databases; Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990; The Afghanistan War and the United States, 1998-2017; Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy; The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962; Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990; China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998; CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010; CIA Family Jewels Indexed; Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010; The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962; The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update; The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink; Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999; Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden; El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984; El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994; Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980; The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988; Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994; Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976, 1877-1992, and Part III, 1961-2000; The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977; The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977; Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013; The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009; Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990; Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000; The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986; Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton; Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush; South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989; The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991; Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004; Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002; U.S. Climate Change Diplomacy: From the Montreal Protocol to the Paris Agreement, 1981-2015; U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996; U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action; The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989; The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11; U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq; U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991; U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968; U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy, 1945–1991; U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I (1954-1968) and Part II: (1969-1975); U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015; and The United States and the Two Koreas, Part 1 (1969-2000) and Part II (1969-2010).
Browse Latin American collections on relations between the United States and Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, El Salvador, Mexico, Nicaragua, and Peru.
