Dance & Theatre Library Guide

Access journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries.

A comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts--drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more--searchable together for the first time in one electronic database. Former title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA).

Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.

Includes essays, analysis, biographies, and full productions of classic and contemporary theatre and dance.

Books, articles, and archival material from the 17th century to the present covering scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup.

Comprehensive resource covering all aspects of Canadian and American Theatre. It includes reference materials and records to plays, people, theatres, productions and production companies.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online's British Theatre, Music, and Literature collection features a range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. The collection includes manuscripts and musical compositions as well as documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records. It offers scholars a detailed look at the inner workings of the world of the arts in Britain.

Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.

A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."

Access full-text, high-quality scholarly content (journals and books) in the humanities and social sciences as published by select leading university presses and scholarly societies.

The leading international index of journals, books, dissertations, and more on literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

A unique archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays. Eighteenth Century Drama features three distinct areas: Primary source documents; the focus of which is the Larpent collection of plays and Anna Larpent's Diaries; The London Stage Database (1660-1800); and A Biographical Dictionary of Actors etc. (1660-1800).

Nineteenth Century Collections Online's British Theatre, Music, and Literature collection features a range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. The collection includes manuscripts and musical compositions as well as documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records. It offers scholars a detailed look at the inner workings of the world of the arts in Britain.

Books, articles, and archival material from the 17th century to the present covering scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup.

This database offers full page and article image scans of The New York Times with searchable full text of every available issue from 1851 to 2020. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.

Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.

Advanced search page to access all ProQuest News & Newspaper databases available through Tulane University Libraries. Includes historical newspapers: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); The American Israelite‎ (1854-2000); The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931 - 2010); The Baltimore Afro-American‎ (1893-2010); The Baltimore Sun (1837-1998); The Boston Globe‎ (1872-1993); Chicago Defender‎ (1909-2010); Chicago Tribune‎ (1849-1998); The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908-2011); Cleveland Call & Post‎ (1934-2010); Detroit Free Press‎ (1831-1999); The Guardian & The Observer‎ (1791-2003); The Irish Times & The Weekly Irish Times‎ (1859-2022); The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008); The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905-1990); The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887-1990); Le Monde (1944-2000); Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934-2010); Los Angeles Times‎ (1881-2000); New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922-2010); The New York Times‎ (1851-2020); New York Tribune‎ (1841-1922); Norfolk Journal & Guide‎ (1916-2010); Philadelphia Tribune‎ (1912-2010); Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911-2010); The Scotsman‎ (1817-1950); The Times of India‎ (1838-2011); The Wall Street Journal‎ (1889-2012) and The Washington Post‎ (1877-2008). Recent Newspapers (2008-current): Chicago Tribune; Los Angeles Times; New York Times; Washington Post. Newsstreams: Latin American Newsstream, U.S. Hispanic Newsstream.

Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeare’s plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.

Archives Unbound is a platform for dozens of digitized primary source collections of manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, U.K. National Archives and a range of specialized libraries, archives, and historical societies. Tulane has access to more than 65 collections with a particular focus on: U.S. and U.K. foreign relations; European colonialism in Africa; civil rights, Black liberation and social movements; women's history; World War II and Holocaust history; and southern history.

AP captures events from history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text. Content is accessible through a variety of searches – from keyword and category to color and concept searching.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central (fka The Berg Fashion Library) provides fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion Online. NOTE: There is a limit of 3 concurrent users.

A complete image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context beyond the confines of your discipline. All images are from reliable sources and rights-cleared for use in education and research. Personal registration is required to download images. Once registered, you can access core collections remotely. Artstor remote access usually last 120-days but, for the duration of the COVID-19 crisis, this feature is set to 365-days.