Contains over 1,500 dramatic works from the early 18th - early 20th century. Includes plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres are represented.
Full text plays together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
Alexander Street Presses Contemporary World Drama collection examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world, including recently produced world premieres, previously unpublished works, etc. from every continent.
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. Also offers expert guidance in the form of scholarly notes, annotated texts, critical analysis and contextual information.
Tulane's subscription includes the Shakespeare's Globe on Screen 1 (2008-2015) & 2 (2016-2018), the Stage on Screen video collection, their Core Collection of play-texts, and the Critical Studies & Performance Practice eBook collection.
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
Contains plays by 170 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Includes streaming contemporary dance productions.
Digital Theatre + also offers more that 100 essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides, covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques. The platform also offers more that 100 essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides, covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques.
Multimedia collection that covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
The mission of BroadwayHD is to promote and preserve live theatre, extending the reach of Broadway and Broadway-caliber shows to anyone, anywhere. BroadwayHD captures and transports the magic of performance from the stage to your screen. As part of the Tulane University subscription, there are twenty plays currently available via BroadwayHD.
This site is a digital resource for the study of the 1934 John and Alan Lomax trip to lower Louisiana, where they recorded a diverse array of songs in English and in Louisiana French.
Offers thousands of tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums representing hundreds of jazz artists. Comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. Naxos Jazz, along with Prophone and Proprius, brings you the world of international Jazz, covering Sweden and Scandinavian jazz artists.
Sounds of all regions from every continent to include genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Listen to recordings from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. Access unique supplements to the filmed productions — exclusive digitized archival materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and costume bibles which provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
Includes streaming video of contemporary theatre productions as well as scripts, interviews, and more.
Digital Theatre + also offers more that 100 essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides, covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques. The platform also offers more that 100 essays, documentaries, lectures, and study guides, covering theatre history, context, language analysis, encyclopedia entries, and practical techniques.
A selection of works via Drama Online, the resource includes stage productions of The Duchess of Malfi by John Webster, Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe, School for Scandal by Richard Brinsley Sheridan and Volpone by Ben Jonson. Also includes cast & crew interviews, costume designs, productions stills, study guides, and background on the play & production.
The mission of BroadwayHD is to promote and preserve live theatre, extending the reach of Broadway and Broadway-caliber shows to anyone, anywhere. BroadwayHD captures and transports the magic of performance from the stage to your screen. As part of the Tulane University subscription, there are twenty plays currently available via BroadwayHD.
