Library Guides: ENLS-5010-01 English Capstone Seminar, Colored Conventions Project: Letters/Papers/Books

Search Google Books and HathiTrust for Digitized Books and Other Materials

Find information about African Americans by searching the full text of millions of books in Google Books and the HathiTrust Digital Library. Note the name of the library that provided the book as well as the book's title, author(s), publisher name and location, date, and the page(s) where the information can be found.

If there are no options for printing or downloading, try to take a screenshot of the page that you need and/or check your library catalog to see if your library has a copy of the book.

In some cases, you will find your search terms highlighted in the text but won't be able to view the book. If there are copyright restrictions, the entire book will not be displayed.

Proceedings of the convention of the Friends of freedom, Louisiana state convention of the friends of freedom.1863

African American Women

Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Includes fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries written by women from Africa and the African Diaspora.

Noted Negro Women: Their Triumphs and Activities (ebook) by Monroe Alphus Majors
Call Number: online
Publication Date: ca. 1893
We Are Your Sisters: Black Women in the Nineteenth Century (ebook) by Dorothy Sterling
Publication Date: 1984
The Work of the Afro-American Woman (ebook) by Mrs. N. F. Mossell
Publication Date: 1894
Black Women in Nineteenth-Century American Life by Bert J. Loewenberg (Editor); Ruth Bogin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780271005072
Publication Date: 1990-10-01
The Sisters of the Holy Family of New Orleans, Louisiana : 1842-1987. by Sisters of the Holy Family (New Orleans, La.)
Call Number: Amistad Research Center BX4498.Z9 S5 1987
Publication Date: 1987
African American women Louisiana New Orleans.
Black Women in America (ebook) by Darlene Clark Hine (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195156775
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
The Great Southern Babylon: sex, race, and respectability in New Orleans, 1865-1920 by Alecia P. Long
Call Number: Howard-Tilton Stacks HQ 146 .N6 L66 2004 - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 9780807131121
Publication Date: 2005-09-01

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, this descriptive dictionary traces the historical development of the language.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2006

Biographical Directories

Men of Mark: Eminent, Progressive and Rising by William J. Simmons
Freedom's Lawmakers by Eric Foner
Call Number: Howard-Tilton Stacks E 185.96 .F64 1996 - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 0807120820
Publication Date: 1996-08-01
Black Biography, 1790-1950 by Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Randall K. Burkett (Editor); Nancy H. Burkett (Editor)
Call Number: Howard-Tilton Stacks Z1361.N39 B52 1991 - 1st Floor
ISBN: 0898870852
Publication Date: 1991-02-01

African American Archives

Black History Records This link opens in a new window
Black History is a sub-collection of Fold3, an extensive database of historical military records. It includes digitized documents from the following U.S. National Archives (NARA) record series: US, Civil War Service Records (CMSR) - Union - Colored Troops 2nd-7th Infantry, 1861-1865; US, Amistad - Supreme Court records, 1839; US, Military Intelligence Division - Negro Subversion, 1917-1941; US, Civil War Service Records (CMSR) - Union - Colored Troops 8th-13th Infantry, 1861-1865; US, American Colonization Society, 1792-1964; US, Board of Commissioners - Emancipation of Slaves in DC, , 1862-1863; US, Amistad - Federal court records, 1815-1858; US, Court Slave Records for DC, 1851-1863.