Skip to Main Content
Tulane University - Libraries
Library Guides
Tulane University Libraries
ENLS-5010-01 English Capstone Seminar, Colored Conventions Project
1872 National Convention of Colored Citizens, New Orleans, April 10-14
Search this Guide
Search
ENLS-5010-01 English Capstone Seminar, Colored Conventions Project: 1872 National Convention of Colored Citizens, New Orleans, April 10-14
Colored Conventions Research at Tulane
Home
19th-Century Newspapers
Digital Image Collections
Websites
Letters/Papers/Books
Census Records/City Directories
Petitions Research
History/Biography Databases
1865 State Convention of the Colored People of Louisiana, New Orleans, January 9-14
1872 National Convention of Colored Citizens, New Orleans, April 10-14
StoryMapJS
Directly From the Convention
Life and Times of Frederick Douglass
Advice to the Colored People: Letter to the National Convention of Colored People at New Orleans, April, 1872
Primary Sources from 1872
The American Annual Cyclopaedia of Important Events of the Year 1872
A Handbook of Politics for 1872: Being a Record of Important Political Action, National and State, from July 15, 1870, to July 15, 1872
Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Supreme Court of Louisiana and in the Superior Court of the Territory of Louisiana (1872)
Proceedings of the Louisiana Educational Convention: Held at Lyceum Hall, New Orleans, May 23, 24 & 25, 1872 Front Cover Printed at the Republican Office, 1872
[Denial of request for martial law in New Orleans, Louisiana] (ebook)
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 1872
Message of P.B.S. Pinchback, Lieutenant Governor, Acting Governor, to the General Assembly of Louisiana, December 11, 1872.
Call Number: Jones Hall Louisiana Research Collection 976.3 (353.9) L888 1872m Dec.11
Testimony taken by the Select committee to investigate the condition of affairs in the state of Louisiana. United States. Congress. Select Committee to Investigate the Condition of Affairs in the State of Louisiana 1872.
Call Number: Jones Hall Louisiana Research Collection 976.3 (324) U42t
Publication Date: 1872
New Orleans newspapers
The Daily Picayune
Call Number: Offsite Depository (Contact Louisiana Research Collection) AP2.N49 D357
Publication Date: 1837-1914
The Daily Picayune (electronic)
Publication Date: 1861-1899
The national republican. New Orleans La. : Republican Party of the State of La., 1871-1872
Call Number: Offsite Depository (Contact Louisiana Research Collection) AP2.N49 N377
Excerpts from New Orleans newspapers, 1872-1875 dealing with reconstruction in Louisiana.
Call Number: Jones Hall Louisiana Research Collection 976.31 E96
The New Orleans Republican
Call Number: Offsite Depository (Contact Louisiana Research Collection) AP2.N49 R46
Publication Date: 1867-1878
Convention proceedings, April 11-14 issues, 1872
New Orleans Republican
Check holdings at other institutions
Weekly Louisianian (electronic)
Publication Date: 1870-1882
Key Secondary Sources (books)
Black Legislators in Louisiana During Reconstruction (ebook)
by
Charles Vincent
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780809385812
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The African American Electorate
by
Hanes Walton; Donald R. Deskins; Sherman Puckett
Call Number: Howard-Tilton Stacks JK1924 .W35 2012 - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 9780872895089
Publication Date: 2012-07-20
Black New Orleans, 1860-1880
by
John W. Blassingame 1940-
Call Number: Jones Hall Louisiana Research Collection (Reference) F 379 .N59 B42
Publication Date: 1973
Black New Orleans, 1860-1880
The Fire of Freedom
by
David S. Cecelski
Call Number: E540.N3 C37 2012
ISBN: 9780807835661
Publication Date: 2012-09-29
Crucible of Reconstruction
by
Ted Tunnell
Call Number: Jones Hall Louisiana Research Collection F 375 .T86 1984
ISBN: 0807111813
Publication Date: 1984-12-01
Rethinking the Judicial Settlement of Reconstruction
by
Pamela Brandwein
Call Number: Howard-Tilton Stacks KF4757 .B655 2011 - 3rd Floor
ISBN: 9780521887717
Publication Date: 2011-02-21
The characteristics and activities of political clubs in Reconstruction New Orleans, 1867-1872
by
Charles Lewis Rast
Call Number: Jones Hall University Archives (Theses & Dissertations) LD5434 .T913 1982 vol.20
Publication Date: 1982
Unable to locate the requested user profile.
Key Secondary Sources (articles)
Black and White in New Orleans: A Study in Urban Race Relations, 1865-1900
Rights and the Constitution in Black Life during the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Demands of the New Orleans Free Colored Population for Political Equality, 1862-1865
The Labor Movement and The Negro During Reconstruction.
Labor Militancy and Black Grassroots Political Mobilization in the Louisiana Sugar Region, 1865-1868
The Political Mind of the Negro, 1865-1900
The Origins of Black Leadership in New Orleans During Reconstruction
<<
Previous:
1865 State Convention of the Colored People of Louisiana, New Orleans, January 9-14
Next:
StoryMapJS >>
This work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License
.
Black Legislators in Louisiana During Reconstruction (ebook) by 
The African American Electorate by 
Crucible of Reconstruction by 
Rethinking the Judicial Settlement of Reconstruction by 
