Library Guides: ENLS-5010-01 English Capstone Seminar, Colored Conventions Project: 19th-Century Newspapers

Petition of the Free Colored Citizens of Louisiana to Abraham Lincoln (1864)

The Liberator
See April 1, 1864 in The Liberator for the petition to Abraham Lincoln from the Free Colored People of Louisiana

New Orleans newspapers online

Weekly Louisianian
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 1870-1882
The New Orleans Tribune 1864-1870
Call Number: online
The Daily Picayune
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 1861-1899

Print Newspapers available in LaRC

The Daily Picayune
Call Number: online and Offsite Depository (Contact Louisiana Research Collection) AP2.N49 D357
Publication Date: 1837-1914
New Orleans Tribune
Call Number: Jones Hall Louisiana Research Collection AP2.N49 T752
Publication Date: 1864-69

Guides to African American Newspapers

The New Orleans Tribune : an introduction to America's first Black daily newspaper (ebook) by Mark Charles Roudané
Call Number: PN4882.5 .R68 2014
ISBN: 807102237
Publication Date: 2014

THE NEW ORLEANS TRIBUNE: AN INTRODUCTION TO AMERICA’S FIRST BLACK DAILY NEWSPAPER BY MARK CHARLES ROUDANÉ (website)

My Passage at the New Orleans Tribune by Jean-Charles Houzeau; David C. Rankin (Editor); Gerard F. Denault (Translator); Amy Freidlander (Contribution by); Dan T. Carter (Contribution by); A. D. Mayo (Contribution by)
Call Number: Available at Jones Hall Louisiana Research Collection PN 4874 .H68 A3613 2001
ISBN: 0807126896
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
The African American Newspaper by Patrick S. Washburn; Clarence Page (Foreword by)
Call Number: PN 4882.5 .W37 2006 - 2nd Floor
ISBN: 9780810122901
Publication Date: 2006-12-21
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals by James P. Danky; Maureen E. Hady (Editor); Henry Louis Gates (Foreword by)
Call Number: Amistad Research Center (Reference) Z6944.N39 A37 1998
ISBN: 9780674007888
Publication Date: 1999-02-25

Social Media

Facebook--Roudanez: History and Legacy
This Facebook page is dedicated to the history and legacy of Dr. Louis Charles Roudanez, founder of America's first Black daily newspaper, the New Orleans Tribune.
Roudanez: History and Legacy
"In 1864, Dr. Roudanez launched La Tribune de la Nouvelle Orléans (the New Orleans Tribune), the first Black daily newspaper in the United States. With his Tribune colleagues and a dynamic community of free and freed persons of African descent, Roudanez courageously attacked racism in the face of some of the nation’s worst violence."

Databases for Full-Text Historical Newspapers

History Commons This link opens in a new window
History Commons (formerly Accessible Archives) is a historical newspaper and primary source database with strengths in early U.S. History and the history of slavery and abolition. Tulane has access to the following modules: African American Newspapers parts I-XIIS; Civil War Collection Part 1, A Newspaper Perspective; The Liberator, 1831-1865; The South Carolina Gazette, 1732-1780; The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800; The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue; Pennsylvania Newspaper Record; Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets; Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman; Twelve Years a Slave; and The Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
A subset of the America's Historical Newspapers Collection from Readex, which includes African American newspapers from around the United States, including the New Orleans Daily Creole, New Orleans Tribune, Weekly Louisianian and the Weekly Pelican.
Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical Black Newspapers (ProQuest) allows you to access full text articles in the: Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2010; Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-2010; Cleveland Call and Post, 1934-2009; Los Angeles Sentinel, 1946-2010; New Journal and Guide (Norfolk, VA), 1921-2010; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; Philadelphia Tribune, 1912-2010; and Pittsburgh Courier, 1955-2010. Individual titles may also be searched separately.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Access 500+ U.S. newspapers published between 1800 and 1900, many published in what were, at the time, territories. Covers a broad spectrum with a comprehensive geographical and chronological range.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains text-searchable digitizations of U.S. newspapers published between 1690 and 1980, including titles from all 50 present states. Tulane has access to the following collections and series: African American Newspapers; Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection; Hispanic American Newspapers; Series 1: From Colonies to Nation; Series 2: The New Republic; Series 3: From Farm to City; Series 4: The Rise of Industry; Series 5: An Emerging World Power; Series 6: Compromise and Disunion; Series 7: Reform and Retrenchment; Series 8: A Nation in Transition; Series 19: Southern Newspapers, the Politics of Race in the South.
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more.
Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window
Part of Proquest's Black Studies Center, this collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves. The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany.
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full page and article image scans of The New York Times with searchable full text of every available issue from 1851 to 2020. Select "Browse Issues" from the menu to peruse content by date.

Freely-Available Newspapers on Websites

Search the web for freely-available newspapers. This is a selected list of useful websites.

Digitizing Louisiana Newspapers Project (DLNP)

"LSU Libraries is proud to present the Digitizing Louisiana Newspaper Project (DLNP), which offers titles from the state of Louisiana published between 1836 through 1922."

Black Abolitionist Archive (Access via University of Detroit Mercy)
"The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and approximately 1,000 editorials from the period."

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (1836-1922) | Library of Congress
Identify African American titles by selecting the "All Digitized Newspapers" tab and choosing "African American" under Ethnicity.

California Digital Newspaper Collection (1846 to present)
The California Digital Newspaper Collection is a project of the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research (CBSR) at the University of California, Riverside.

Google News (historic and recent - search by newspaper title here)

Historical Newspapers Online, USA (a useful gateway site)

Borrowing Newspaper Issues from the Center for Research Libraries

Many libraries are members of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). Materials can be borrowed from CRL through the library's interlibrary loan office, even if they are print newspapers. Check for microfilm copies, such as the microfilm reels for the Christian Recorder. The CRL catalog lists items that are available for loan.

The CRL also offers selected digitized issues of historical newspapers. Click here to search the CRL catalog for the Weekly Anglo-African and other digitized newspapers.