Library Guides: Criminology and Criminal Justice Library Guide: Find Databases

Popular Criminology and Criminal Justice Databases

Databases are storage centers for resources. Library databases provide access to academic journals, newspapers, eBook platforms, image collections, data sets, and digitized primary sources. Tulane Libraries maintain licensed access to more than 900 library databases. Explore some of these databases by visiting the tabs above.

Consider these databases when searching for original research in criminology and criminal justice.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology from around the world.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. Search U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.
Westlaw Next This link opens in a new window
Access a collection of news and business information and law-related resources (legal documents, cases, statutes, regulations, and articles).
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data, the text of the Congressional Record, and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Tulane has access to content through 2024.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Areas of public concern and potential legislation, including health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics and more. Includes articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. 1914 - present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Updated monthly.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in psychology. Also includes psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics, as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.