Library Guides: Sports-Related Brain Injury: Library Guide: Reports & Websites

Official Reports & Consensus Statements

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Heads Up: Concussion in Youth Sports is a free, online course available to coaches, parents, and others helping to keep athletes safe from concussion. This website includes links to the training, educational materials including fact sheets , information for parents and athletes and a link to concussion training tutorial for medical providers.

Concussion in para sport: the first position statement of the Concussion in Para Sport (CIPS) Group
to improve concussion care provided to para athletes, the concussion in para sport (CIPS) multidisciplinary expert group was created. This group analysed and discussed in-depth para athlete-specific issues within the established key clinical domains of the current (2017) consensus statement on CIS.
American Academy of Neurology Position Statement on Sports Concussion
Position statement. American Academy of Neurology. Updated March 2013
Consensus statement on concussion in sport: the 6th International Conference on Concussion in Sport–Amsterdam, October 2022
Consensus statement on concussion in sport: the 6th International Conference on Concussion in Sport–Amsterdam, October 2022
American Medical Society for Sports Medicine position statement: concussion in sport
Position Statement. American Medical Society for Sports Medicine. Dec 2012
Concussion (Mild Traumatic Brain Injury) and the Team Physician: A Consensus Statement
Consensus Statement. American Medical Society for Sports Medicine. 2011 update.
Concussion (Mild Traumatic Brain Injury) and the Team Physician: A Consensus Statement
Consensus Statement. The American College of Sports Medicine. Published in Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise , 37(11), 2012-2016. doi: 10.1249/01.mss.0000186726.18341.70
Consensus Statement on Concussion in Sport: The 3rd International Conference on Concussion in Sport Held in Zurich, 2008
A revision and update of the recommendations developed following the 1st (Vienna) and 2nd (Prague) International Symposia on Concussion in Sport. November 2008.
Consensus statement on concussion in sport: the 4th International Conference on Concussion in Sport held in Zurich, 2012.
This paper is a revision and update of the recommendations developed following the 1st (Vienna 2001), 2nd (Prague 2004) and 3rd (Zurich 2008) International Consensus Conferences on Concussion in Sport and is based on the deliberations at the 4th International Conference on Concussion in Sport held in Zurich, November 2012. Most up-to-date.
National Association of School Nurses Position Statement: Concussions the Roles of School Nurses
NASN Sch Nurse. 2013 Mar;28(2):110-1. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23600095
ASHA Practice Guidelines Role of Audiologist & Speech-Language Pathologist in post-concussion care
Standards for Post-Concussion Care
Ontario Neurotrama Foundation. (2017). Toronto (Canada): Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation, 1-93.
Role of Neuropsychologists in the Evaluation and Management of Sport-related Concussion: An Inter-Organization Position Statement.
Echemendia RJ, Iverson GL, McCrea M, Broshek DK, Gioia GA, Sautter SW, Macciocchi SN, Barr WB. Clin Neuropsychol. 2011 Nov;25(8):1289-94.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22171535
Sports-Related Concussions in Youth: Improving the Science, Changing the Culture
Consensus Report. Committee on Sports-Related Concussions in Youth; Board on Children, Youth, and Families, Institute of Medicine and National Resource Council. 2013.
Summary and agreement statement of the 2nd International Conference on Concussion in Sport, Prague 2004
The 2nd International Symposium on Concussion in Sport held in Prague, Czech Republic. November 2004.
Summary of evidence-based guideline update: Evaluation and management of concussion in sports
Report of the Guideline Development Subcommittee of the American Academy of Neurology. March 2013
The Team Physician and the Return-to-Play Decision: A Consensus Statement
Consensus Statement. American Medical Society for Sports Medicine. 2012 update.
Traumatic brain and spinal cord injury in Louisiana : annual surveillance report
Report. Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, Injury Research and Prevention Section. 1996-1999 Cumulative Report
Louisiana Traumatic Brain Injuries: Fatal and Non-Fatal 2018
Handout of updated TBI injuries in Lousiana
Football Practice Guidelines: Year-Round Football Practice Contact Guidelines
NCAA Football practice guidelines: Year-Round Football Practice Contact Guidelines. July 2014

Brain Injury Association of Louisiana (BIALA)
The Brain Injury Association of Louisiana (BIALA) is a statewide 501(c)(3) non-profit organization focused on creating a better future for Louisiana citizens with brain injury and/or spinal cord injury through education, community support groups, obtaining services, and advocacy.
Louisiana High School Athletic Association (LHSAA)
LHSAA Concussion packet which includes: Information on the Louisiana Youth Concussion Act, home instruction sheet, Physician forms, a parent's guide to concussion in sports from National Federation of State High School Associations, and more
Louisiana Youth Concussion Act
Act No. 314 passed in 2011.
Traumatic Brain Injury Fatalities in Louisiana 2000-2005
Cumulative Report. Injury Research and Prevention Section. State of Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals
US Department of Health and Human Services - A Look at TBI Trust Fund Programs
Includes Louisiana specific information.
BISCIS League (Brain Injury Spinal Cord Injury Survivors) - Miracle League Greater New Orleans
The vision of the Miracle League is to provide any disabled child, regardless of their level of disability, the opportunity to play league sports and enjoy the emotional and physical benefits of being part of a team sport

Select Programs & Websites

CDC Heads Up
Keeping children and teens healthy and safe is always a top priority. Whether you are a parent, youth sports coach, school coach, school professional, or health care provider, this site will help you recognize, respond to, and minimize the risk of concussion or other serious brain injury.
National Federation of State High School Association
Learn how you can responsibly fill the role of a parent in school programs!
Concussion Legacy Foundation Programs
Calls on fighters to take control of their brain health by participating in research and getting educated on concussions and chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE)
Brain Injury Association of America and TeachAids-CrashCourse
CrashCourse provides students, parents, and coaches with the latest medical knowledge on the prevention and treatment of concussions

Concussion Legacy Foundation
Fighting Concussions & CTE and improving the lives of those impacted
CrashCourse - Brain Injury Association of America
CrashCourse provides students, parents, and coaches with the latest medical knowledge on the prevention and treatment of concussions.
Boston University’s Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CTE) Center
Boston University’s Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CTE) Center conducts high-impact, innovative research on chronic traumatic encephalopathy and other long-term consequences of repetitive brain trauma in athletes, military personnel, and first responders.
American Academy of Neurology - Concussion Toolkit
Includes guidelines, policy documents and resources for physicians, caregivers, coaches, trainers, and patients.
BrainLine.org
BrainLine is a national multimedia project offering information and resources about preventing, treating, and living with TBI. BrainLine includes a series of webcasts, an electronic newsletter, and an extensive outreach campaign in partnership with national organizations concerned about traumatic brain injury.
BrainTrauma.org
Since 1986, the BTF dedicated its mission to improving TBI patient outcomes worldwide by developing best practice guidelines, conducting clinical research, and educating medical professionals and consumers.
The Center on Brain Injury Research and Training (CBIRT) -University of Oregon
CBIRT conducts research and training to improve the lives of children and adults with traumatic brain injury (TBI). CBIRT’s research focuses on developing interventions to improve outcomes related to education, employability, and quality of life.
Pink Concussions
Female brain injury from sports, violence, military service
UT Southwestern - ConTex Team
ConTex includes a team of internationally and nationally recognized leaders in concussion research and care, representing sports medicine, neurology, sports neuropsychology, and neurosurgery representing the participating institutions
NCAA Concussion Resources
While sport-related concussion is an inherent risk in all contact and collision sports, the SSI has taken a leadership role, in collaboration with multiple key stakeholders, in evaluating the impact of concussions and repetitive head impact, as well as developing groundbreaking research and best practices to mitigate the potential effects of head injuries in sport.
NCAA DOD Grand Alliance CARE Consortium
The CARE Consortium endeavors to provide necessary infrastructure and scientific expertise to study concussion

ConcussionWise
ConcussionWise™ is part of a family of online concussion education courses designed to meet the needs of athletic trainers, physicians, coaches, parents, athletes, and other health care providers. Offers courses for nurses, teachers, trainers, coaches, athletes, parents, etc
National Sports Concussion Coalition
The National Sports Concussion Coalition is comprised of health professionals and leading organizations across youth, college and pro sports. Individually and collectively, we are working to enhance the sports experience for kids in the United States by advancing the approaches to identify and manage concussions in sports.
Stop Sports Injuries
The comprehensive public outreach program focuses on the importance of sports safety-specifically relating to overuse and trauma injuries.
ACSM Resources on Sports-Related Concussions
Sports-related concussion (SPC) continues to be an important topic affecting not only athletes, but family members, physicians, trainers, coaches and administrators as well. To assist in informing the dialogue, ACSM is making available science-based resources regarding sports-related concussion
Concussion Legacy Foundation Programs
Calls on fighters to take control of their brain health by participating in research and getting educated on concussions and chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE)
Keep Your Boots On-Headcase
The RFU’s HEADCASE programme aims to increase understanding and provide information on concussion and other related topics, including how to prevent and manage suspected concussions. It is recognised as one of the UK’s leading concussion awareness and education resources
Headcase Extended Guidelines
Information, guidance, and resources on how to recognize and manage a concussion
Keep Your Boots On-Activate Toolkit
Activate is the RFU’s Injury Prevention Exercise Programme that can be integrated into training and pre-match sessions. Exercises are designed to improve functional and core strength, balance and agility, helping players with the game’s physical demands.
UK Concussion Guidelines for Grassroots Sport
The guidelines deliver on a government commitment to establish a single set of shared, UK-wide concussion guidelines for the immediate management of concussion followed by the gradual return to activity (education/work) and, ultimately, sport.

Tulane Center for Sport [CfS]

The NFL Trust Program
Learn about the exciting role the Tulane School of Medicine is playing in helping retired NFL players.
NFL Players Association taps Tulane University to provide medical services for former players
Nov 2013 article from Tulane News
Tulane Center for Sports Clinical Services
The site provides an outline of the programs under the umbrella of CfS
Tulane University Partners With NFLPA To Provide Medical Care To Former Football Players
Nov 2013 article from 89.9 WWNO