Library Guides: EBIO 2110 -Tropical Biology: 4-Find Articles

Why Not Just Google It?

There are many benefits to searching within a subject-specific database including:

All articles in a database will be related to your discipline of interest. Less time will be spent ignoring unrelated or irrelevant articles
Less likely to miss out on any key articles on your topic
Subject headings will allow you to search the main topic of an article instead of just matching words (keywords)
Abstracts, keywords, and subject headings help you quickly determine if the article is useful
Databases will allow you to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals, which can take some of the guess work out of identifying which journals you can use

Useful Databases

Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Includes relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. With coverage ranging from habitats to food chains, from erosion to land reclamation, this resource provides an important cross-section of current findings in target research areas.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s Environment Complete database offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. The resource includes more than 1,200 full-text journals and monographs, nearly 4 million records, indexing for more than 2,000 domestic and international journals dating back more than 100 years and more than 180 full-text monographs. Offering full text and indexing for these journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
Environment Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies, featuring journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database includes conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations.
Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage from more than 4,000 journals as far back as 1926, Concurrently searches the Biological Abstracts back files (1926-1968) and the current files (1969-present).
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database includes: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited). Coverage: 1976 - present. NOTE: Use your Web of Science/Endnote username and password or create a new username and password to access InCites, Journal Citation Reports, and/or EndNotes from Web of Science.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.

Connect with Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great tool for completing citations, locating known articles (e.g., from a Reference list or provided by a teacher), and for cited reference searching.

Connecting TU Link with Google Scholar
Connect Google Scholar with Tulane Libraries so you can seamlessly access the Library collection from anywhere!