Library Guides: Early American History: Maps

Map Collections online

Try these resources to find historical maps from around the world.

American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection
Showcases maps spanning the globe from the 15th to 21st centuries.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Digitization of the collection began in 1996 and there are now over 38,000 items online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century maps of North and South America, although it also has maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.
Library of Congress Collections with Maps
Select map collections from the collections at the Library of Congress. Includes maps relating to the Civil War, the Louisiana Purchase, National Parks, and 19th century railroads.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A rich collection of political, physical, and thematic maps, both historical and contemporary. Many are available online.

Maps in Books

Historical maps can be difficult to find, and may only exist in archival collections with no digital online access. In these cases, it is often helpful to search for maps that are published in secondary sources, especially books written by historians. When searching the library catalog, take note of the Format information, which will tell you if there are any maps or illustrations (abbreviated "ill.") included.

Regional Maps

Early Maps of the American South
Plans of colonial settlements of the Gulf Coast and their local surroundings. Includes numerous maps of Natchez, New Orleans, Mobile, and Pensacola, among other locations.
Presented by the Research Laboratories of Archaeology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Historical Maps of U.S. Cities: New Orleans The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection online includes 18 maps of New Orleans, from 1728 to 1920.
Vieux Carré Survey
An extensive study of the properties within the French Quarter referencing essential historical, architectural, legal and sociological data on individual lots and structures from the French colonial period to the present.