Full text of papers that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757, and that relate to the governance of, and activities in, the American, Canadian and West Indian colonies of England.
Contains letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters from 1534-1850. Effective browsing and searching capabilities allow, for example, to identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700.
Electronic collection of material reproduced from manuscripts and printed sources reflecting the development of the British and other European empires. The materials include early accounts of discovery, exploration and travel, the work of the missionaries, colonisation and decolonisation.
A bilingual digital library made available by the Library of Congress, in partnership with Bibliothèque Nationale de France. It explores the history of the French presence in North America from the first decades of the 16th century to the end of the 19th century.
Includes over 200,000 House of Commons and House of Lords session papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HTML has access to the following: 18th century (1688-1834) , 19th century (1801-1900), 20th century (1901-2003/04 session) and 21st century (2005 - present).
Presidential Papers
In addition to these online resources, there may be print editions of the papers, speeches, and correspondence of prominent historical figures, including U.S. Presidents, members of Congress, and other political leaders. Search the Library Catalog for these individuals as AUTHOR for works written by them but published in book formats.
A massive digital collection of presidential papers, messages, speeches, videos, statistics, and other resources, from George Washington to the present.
This library offers the only complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports from 1754 onwards, as well as Preliminary Prints from 2002 onwards and Slip Opinions from 2002 to date. The collection also includes a variety of resourceful books and periodicals such as, the Supreme Court Economic Review and the Supreme Court Review.
1789-present Comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including bills, debates, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the Congressional Record.
The resource includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, and legislative histories. It also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
coverage varies by collection
HeinOnline's U.S. Presidential Library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Weekly Compilation of the Presidential Documents, and other documents relating to U.S. presidents. Messages and Papers of the Presidents is a 22-volume set beginning with George Washington and concluding with Herbert Hoover.
The messages of the presidents of the United States annual, veto, and special are among the most interesting, instructive and valuable contributions to the public literature of our Republic. They discuss from the loftiest standpoint nearly all the great questions of national policy and many subjects of minor interest which have engaged the attention of the people from the beginning of our history, and so constitute important and often vital links in their progressive development. Public Papers of the Presidents begins with Herbert Hoover and concludes with George W. Bush. They have been compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration since 1957 in response to a recommendation by the National Historical Publications Commission. Noting the lack of uniform compilations of messages and papers of the presidents before this time, the Commission recommended the establishment of an official series in which presidential writings, addresses and remarks of a public nature could be made available. The CFR Title 3 series contains the full text of presidential proclamations, executive orders, and certain other presidential documents promulgated during 1936-2001. This series of presidential compilations is published under Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations and designed to cover the text of formal presidential documents under the Federal Register Act.
The world's most-comprehensive online collection of image-based U.S. treaties and other international agreements can be found in HeinOnline's Treaties and Agreements Library.
