Library Guides: Art History: Early Christian & Medieval

Databases

Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
The collections include images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between early apostolic times and the sixteenth century. Although the Index of Medieval Art was formerly known as the Index of Christian Art, the collection now includes secular subjects as well as a growing number of subjects from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages This link opens in a new window
Index for resources covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400 - 1700).
Kubikat This link opens in a new window
Kubikat is the collective catalogue of four of the leading German scholarly research institutes in the field of art history; Bibliotheca Hertziana, the Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florence, the Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte in Munich and the Deutsches Forum für Kunstgeschichte in Paris.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. View local holdings or borrow from U.S. libraries using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Two different interfaces, the first a more in-depth option via subscription (FirstSearch, via the Tulane University icon link), and the second open-access (WorldCat Local, via the orange OA icon) offer unique user experiences.

Victoria & Albert Museum
This V&A database provides online access to over 1.1 million catalogue records and over 265,000 images of objects in their collection.

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. Limited to 8 concurrent users.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Expert-curated guides to the most important sources for diverse topics, with editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated. Tulane subscribes to: American Literature, Architecture Planning & Preservation, Art History, Atlantic History, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Philosophy, Renaissance & Reformation and Urban Studies

A Companion to Medieval Art by Conrad Rudolph (Editor); Dana Arnold (Series edited by)
Call Number: N5970.C56 2019
ISBN: 9781119077725
Publication Date: 2019-05-07
A fully updated and comprehensive companion to Romanesque and Gothic art history This definitive reference brings together cutting-edge scholarship devoted to the Romanesque and Gothic traditions in Northern Europe and provides a clear analytical survey of what is happening in this major area of Western art history.
The Routledge Handbook of Early Christian Art by Robin M. Jensen (Editor); Mark D. Ellison (Editor)
ISBN: 1315718839
Publication Date: 2018-05-20
The Routledge Handbook of Early Christian Art surveys a broad spectrum of Christian art produced from the late second to the sixth centuries. The first part of the book opens with a general survey of the subject and then presents fifteen essays that discuss specific media of visual art--catacomb paintings, sculpture, mosaics, gold glass, gems, reliquaries, ceramics, icons, ivories, textiles, silver, and illuminated manuscripts.
The Dictionary of Christian Art by Diane Apostolos-Cappadona
Call Number: BV150 .A66 1994
ISBN: 082640779X
Publication Date: 1994-08-01
The aim of this dictionary is to give the reader access to the pictorial tradition that was once the common visual vocabulary of Christians.
Iconography of Christian Art by Gertrud Schiller
Call Number: N7830.S35132
ISBN: 0821203657
Publication Date: 1971-01-01

International Center of Medieval Art
"The mission of the International Center of Medieval Art is to promote and support the study, understanding, and preservation of visual and material cultures produced primarily between ca. 300 CE and ca. 1500 CE in every corner of the medieval world."
The Labyrinth
The Labyrinth medieval studies website was the first website in the world in the humanities, created by Deborah Everhart and Martin Irvine at Georgetown University in 1993.
British Library -- The Middle Ages
Find out about social history in the Middle Ages by exploring illuminated manuscripts and articles revealing the everyday lives of people across the social spectrum.