A complete image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context beyond the confines of your discipline. All images are from reliable sources and rights-cleared for use in education and research. Personal registration is required to download images. Once registered, you can access core collections remotely. Artstor remote access usually last 120-days but, for the duration of the COVID-19 crisis, this feature is set to 365-days.
The Art & Architecture ePortal (A&AePortal) provides textual and image access to art and architectural history scholarship. Search a growing list of recent monographs by text and image, create a personal bookshelf, access faculty-created course-packs, download chapters, take notes, and cite your sources.
Provides access to Grove Art, the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. Limited to 8 concurrent users.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central (fka The Berg Fashion Library) provides fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion Online. NOTE: There is a limit of 3 concurrent users.
Access nearly 100,000 professional, high-quality images covering architecture, urban design, archaeological sites, landscapes, gardens, and works of art. Tulane owns Base, Modules 1-12 plus Art Module A&B. Click or discover to browse/explore or do a simple search. No login required.
AP captures events from history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text. Content is accessible through a variety of searches – from keyword and category to color and concept searching.
Distinctive cultural heritage content that delights, celebrates diverse ideas and experiences, and elevates critical thinking, to help us think, learn, and act with integrity and wisdom.
On February 7, 2017, The Metropolitan Museum of Art implemented a new policy known as Open Access, which makes images of artworks it believes to be in the public domain widely and freely available for unrestricted use, and at no cost, in accordance with the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation and the Terms and Conditions of this website.
The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. First launched in 2000, the Timeline extends from prehistory to the present day. The Museum's curators, conservators, and educators research and write the Timeline, that continues to expand in scope and depth and reflect the most up-to-date scholarship.
Includes image databases, dictionary, and bibliographies for classical archaeology, particularly Greek art, architecture, history, myth, and geography. Incorporates CVA (Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum) Online, illustrated catalogues of ancient vases.
Illustrated catalogue of over 100,000 ancient vases held in international collections. May be browsed or searched, including advanced search terms for fabric, shape, and technique. Includes multilingual thesaurus.
A diverse collection of 6 individual databases with information about Coptic ceramics, American and British art objects held in France, a general database of museum holdings across France as well as everything on display at the Louvre.
On February 7, 2017, The Metropolitan Museum of Art implemented a new policy known as Open Access, which makes images of artworks it believes to be in the public domain widely and freely available for unrestricted use, and at no cost, in accordance with the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation and the Terms and Conditions of this website.
Portraying locations across the United States, the collection offers perspectives into the society which produced these cards and reveals important insights about cultural attitudes of the time. These postcards also provide unique evidence of the evolution in American architecture, with rare glimpses of buildings or places that may no longer exist or have dramatically altered over time.
Uncover photographs hidden in the "deep web via the Open Archives Initiative, a Metadata Harvester. Limit your search by format to "visual material."
The Open Archives Initiative is not the same thing as the Open Access movement. These resources, often hidden from search engine users behind web scripts, are known as the "deep web." The owners of these resources share them with the world using OAI-PMH.OAIster reveals these digital resources in an easy-to-use, searchable interface. In addition, it aims to:* Provide one-stop "shopping" for users interested in useful, academically-oriented digital resources. It gathers all potential digital resources out there in an effort to build a comprehensive digital union catalog.* Eliminate dead ends. Users retrieve not only descriptions (metadata) about resources, they have access to the real digital resources.
Perseus Digital LibraryOpen Access collection of eTexts concerning the ancient world. Major strengths include art and archaeology as well as guides for teachers.
Provides access to significant primary sources and research materials compiled by the historic Wildenstein Institute for the writing of catalogues raisonnés on major French artists of the 18th and early 20th centuries. Also features pre-1945 sales catalogues.
Digital collections of Latino art, culture, and history. A collaboration between Google and about 50 institutions (Smithsonian Latino Center, UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center, California State Archives, Miami Dade College, and more). The collection features more than 2,500 pieces of art through 90 exhibits.
World's largest fine art stock photo archive, with more than a million searchable fine art images from the world's leading sources, available for licensing to all media.
Features leading galleries, museum collections, foundations, artist estates, art fairs, and benefit auctions. A growing database of images of art, architecture, and design that spans historical, modern, and contemporary works
A leading digital media company offering images (Rights Managed or Royalty-Free), as well as Illustrations and more. Over 100 million images, including historic photographs. One of their most notable collections is the famed Bettmann Archive.
Provides digital media worldwide – from royalty-free stock photography and editorial images to video, music and multimedia – that may help in your research needs. Payment may be required for some usage.
A suite of databases that include the following types of records: Archival Inventories, Sales Catalogs, Dealer Stock Books, Payments to Artists, and Public Collections.
