Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comprehensive Literature Review: A Guide

This guide provides information on drafting and editing a literature review.

ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib logo

Your bibliography is stored in your browser’s local storage by default. You can close the page and return to it later, and your bibliography will still be there — no need to worry about saving your data or logging in.

Looking for EasyBib? EasyBib has ended their EasyBib EDU subscription service, which has prompted Howard-Tilton to now recommend ZoteroBib as our preferred tool for quickly citing sources. For more advanced features, consider one of the other tools on this guide.

Zotero

Zotero

A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research. Zotero allows you to attach digital objects like PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies, even from within your preferred word processor.

You will want to download:

  • Zotero 6.0 app A stand-alone application for all users.
  • Zotero Connector To save to Zotero directly from your browser.

Word processor plugins for Microsoft Word, Google Docs, and LibreOffice come bundled with the Zotero app and will be installed automatically for each installed word processor when you first start Zotero.

RefWorks

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based citation and bibliographic management tool that allows you to save and organize your citations as you research. Each reference can be extensively annotated to make the writing process easier. RefWorks works with our existing library database subscriptions to make a seamless transition between researching and writing. RefWorks functions with Microsoft Word and other word processors to create footnotes, citations and a bibliography for your paper, formatted into the correct style (MLA, APA, Chicago Style, etc.). In addition, RefWorks is available to you after you graduate using your alumni account.

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.