Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comprehensive Literature Review: A Guide

Writing a literature review. What it is and how to get started.

Before you write, Search!


The first step in creating a literature review is, of course, finding the literature to review.  A good literature review should be as comprehensive as necessary to identify all of the major works and debates on your research subject.  Here are some tips for going beyond basic keyword searching in order to find as many sources as you can.

  • Subject-specific Databases - search in databases specific to your discipline of study to find more sources in your field. For example, EconLit specializes in economics, and will have more coverage of the economic literature than an interdisciplinary, all-purpose database such as Academic Search Complete.  You should also search in more than one database/catalog since no one search tool covers everything.
     
  • Subject Headings - also called descriptors, these terms are assigned to items to describe their content, or what they are about. Subject headings often facilitate more precise searching as they eliminate the need to search multiple phrases and synonyms for the same concept.  Look for subject headings on items in the library catalog and in databases of journal articles.  Many databases also provide a thesaurus, or index, of the subject headings used.
     
  • Author Search - many researchers will write about the same topic for their entire career. Searching by an author's name may garner additional relevant information.
     
  • Bibliography Mining - use the list of works cited from a relevant source to locate additional related sources. Search the library catalog to see if we have the item. (See list below to try it out.) This is a way to look for relevant sources published prior to the one in hand. 
     
  • Cited Reference Searching- search for items that have cited a relevant source. This is a way to look for relevant sources publised since the item in hand was published. (See right column for citation databases.)
     
  • Beyond Tulane - if you find a citation for a source Tulane doesn't own, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL)  to get it. Articles and chapters can usually be scanned and sent electronically, but books must be mailed and typically arrive in 1-2 weeks, so plan ahead. 

Article Databases

Use these links to identify a database that's relevant to your research question. 

Bibliography Mining

One way to find relevant articles is to raid the bibliography or works cited section. The three references below are cited in Rob Litchfield's article "Brainstorming Reconsidered: A goal-based view." 

How do you get to the full-text of the items? You may need to use the library's homepage for this.

Amabile, T. M. 1996. Creativity in context. Boulder, CO: Wesview Press.

Dennis, A. R. & Williams, M. L.  2003. Electronic brainstorming: Theory, research, and future directions. In P. B. Paulus & Nijstad, B. A. (Eds.), Group creativity: Innovation through collaboration: 160-178. New York: Oxford University Press.

Dugosh, K. L., & Paulus, P. B. 2005. Cognitive and social comparison processes in brainstorming. Journal of Experimantal Social Psychology, 41: 313-320.

Cited Reference Searching


So you have an article in your hands, and you've already raided the bibliography for citations.  But these are all older sources the author used.  How do you know who cited this article?  Try one of the following search tools to find "future" sources that cite the article you already have. Or use this article as an example. 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.