Brings together all known letters enrolled on the Irish chancery rolls during the Middle Ages (1244–1509) drawing on originals, facsimiles, transcripts and calendars located in archival repositories in The Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, England and the USA.
Searchable editions of British and Irish (including foreign and colonial papers) printed editions of manuscript source material for the period c. 1000 to c. 1800.
Full color images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise the Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor and Armburgh Papers, with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions where available. Original images and transcriptions can be viewed side by side.
Presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period.
The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land although in this it makes no claims to full or even broad coverage: a separate collection, covering crusading and pilgrimage narratives, would be required for that. It features a number of medieval maps such as the famous ‘Beatus’ and ‘Psalter’ maps, individual manuscript illuminations, and some modern translations of key travel texts. It should become an indispensable source for scholars of medieval travel, geography, exploration, trade, literature, and the new field of medieval postcolonial studies.
Offers a simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web. Supported by the Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies at UCLA.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research.
These links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is organized as three main index pages, with a number of supplementary documents. Each individual section is still large - an organizational goal here is to avoid incessant "clicking" to get between pages and to information.
Contains images of 21 unbound manuscript items and 10 bound manuscript items from the Special Collections of the University of Vermont, Bailey/Howe Library. These manuscripts were written in various locations across Europe and the Middle East, from early in the 12th century to the 17th century C.E.
This database contains all kinds of information about the illuminated medieval manuscripts of the Koninklijke Bibliotheek (National Library of the Netherlands) and the Museum Meermanno-Westreenianum.
Offers quick access to various digitization projects on the web. Site maintained by Prof. Sian Echard, Dept. of English, University of British Columbia, Vancouver.
The Lorsch manuscripts of the former monastic library and scriptorium are today scattered all over the world. However, palaeographic research, and in particular the Carolingian inventories have enabled us to localize 330 original Lorsch manuscripts and fragments in 68 libraries around the world, and to once again unite them virtually.
Includes rare journals printed between 1685 and 1835, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
This resource brings together a wide range of primary source materials for the study of European empire, its theories, practices and consequences, dating from the late fifteenth century onwards. The documents in this collection have been sourced from archives and libraries based in the UK, North America and Australia. The majority of documents are from a colonial and thus Western and Eurocentric perspective, and mainly relate to the history of the British Empire. Geographic coverage spans Africa, Australasia, Central America and the Caribbean, East Asia, Europe, Middle East, North America, South America, South Asia, and South East Asia.
The database allows you to search an extensive catalog of books printed in Europe about the Americas from 1493 to 1750. The database reflects the contents of several volumes of "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas," published by the John Carter Brown Library. If the TU link on the record does not take you to an e-book version of the title, try a new search for the title in Library Search, Google Books, or archive.org. Most of these pre-1750 printed works are freely available online, even if the database doesn't allow you to link directly to the full text.
A bilingual digital library made available by the Library of Congress, in partnership with Bibliothèque Nationale de France. It explores the history of the French presence in North America from the first decades of the 16th century to the end of the 19th century.
Includes over 200,000 House of Commons and House of Lords session papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HTML has access to the following: 18th century (1688-1834) , 19th century (1801-1900), 20th century (1901-2003/04 session) and 21st century (2005 - present).
Contains a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
Part I covers The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic. Part II covers The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council. Part III covers The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic. Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council. Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782 is the continuation of SPO, 1509-1714, covering the 18th century from the accession of the Hanoverian monarchs to the British throne in 1714 to the end of the State Papers series in 1782.
A complete image resource in a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context beyond the confines of your discipline. All images are from reliable sources and rights-cleared for use in education and research. Personal registration is required to download images. Once registered, you can access core collections remotely. Artstor remote access usually last 120-days but, for the duration of the COVID-19 crisis, this feature is set to 365-days.
BASIRA (Books as Symbols in Renaissance Art) is a new, open-access online database of representations of books and other textual documents in the figurative arts between approximately 1300 and 1600 CE, the period encompassing the advent of print culture in Europe and its neighboring regions. Users anywhere can browse and query thousands of images of books from a constantly expanding dataset. (From the website)
Dozens of aspects of a book’s depiction can be searched, including details of its binding, bookmarks, contents, and position. In addition, users may search for the particulars of who or what is interacting with the book, and how that action is taking place.
Early European Books (EEB) traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the 17th century, offering color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources. Tulane provides access to collections 1-6, 16, and 19.
EEBO has digitized virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift.
Digital facsimiles of original manuscripts by early modern women from diaries to works of drama. An indispensable resource for anyone interested in women and women's writing in Early Modern Britain.
This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University.
A uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
A uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
Extensive and growing database of texts written in Greek, particularly ancient and medieval works, based on scholarly editions. They can be displayed in Greek fonts or the Roman alphabet; there are links to English translations. NOTE: users must create an account in order to access the subscription portion of this resource
The Thesaurus linguae Latinae is not only the largest Latin dictionary in the world, but also the first to cover all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. 31 academies, and scholarly societies from 23 countries support the work of the Bayerische Akademie (Thesaurusbüro München).
This link opens in a new window