It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political Science: Latin America
Resources about politics and government in Latin America and the Caribbean
More than 2,000 primary source documents describing Guatemala’s internal political, military, social and economic conditions, as well as the details of U.S.-Guatemala relations during this critical period.
The second set of declassified U.S. records concerning El Salvador, this collection incorporates several thousand U.S. government documents relevant to the human rights cases that were studied by the United Nations Truth Commission.
Contemporary record of the diplomatic, political, paramilitary and economic developments which turned the small Central American nation of Nicaragua into the most controversial U.S. foreign policy issue of the 1980s.
Primary Source materials on Latin American Governments
Effort of the Latin American Microfilm Project (LAMP) at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to digitize executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil's national government during the period between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the Empire to 1889.
Historical database of the heads of state of the five Central American countries of Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua, plus the heads of state of the defunct Central American Federation.
Organized by country, this collection covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues. It sheds light on the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
This electronic resource was created by Karen Lindvall-Larson, retired Latin American Studies Librarian at UC San Diego and consists of a series of volumes on selected Latin American countries that provide chronologies of elections since independence at the municipal, state, and federal levels and list sources of statistics for each election as identified.
Contains full-text and full-media copies of the web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies. Capture of sites began on multiple dates in 2005 and 2006, and will continue with regularly scheduled captures.
Designed to provide access to primary sources on Latin American politics. This includes the full text of constitutions, electoral laws, information from the legislative and executive branches of governments, as well as election data. Also useful is the site's links to newspapers and journals from the region.