Library Guides: Microbiology, Immunology, and Virology Research Guide: Databases

Clinical and Health Research Databases

Cochrane Library
Cochrane Reviews -- Trials -- Clinical Answers

EMBASE
Biomedical and pharmaceutical research including Medline + 5 million records not covered in Medline. Indexes 7500+ current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Includes proceedings and conference abstracts.
MEDLINE (OVID)
Searches MEDLINE – (Ovid SP): MeSH headings and limits with subheading topic categories, 1946 - present. Ovid MEDLINE(R), Ovid MEDLINE(R) In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily and Ovid OLDMEDLINE(R) 1946 to Present
OVID
Select Ovid Resources- Includes MEDLINE(Ovid); Global Health and Health Star (public health databases), plus full text books and journals.
PubMed
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
Scopus
Comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.

Entrez

Search NCBI databases (GQuery)
Bibliographic, sequence, and structural databases. Searching the individual databases may improve results. Human Genome, GenBank, BLAST, and other NCBI databases.

Specialty Databases for Research in Health Sciences

ACM Digital Library
Full-text repository of publications by the Association for Computing Machinery, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters, and books that cover topics in computing research and information technology.
AGRICOLA
Records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Use for animal model selection and food, nutrition and agriculture related literature.
Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C)
ProQuest. Reproduction, growth, life cycles, biochemistry, genetics, and infection and immunity in man, other animals, and plants.
Animal Behavior Abstracts
An advanced search page in the ProQuest Biological Science Index database designated for Animal Behavior Abstracts. Content includes focused abstracts on animal behavior & psychology on topics such as aggression, learning, foraging and ingestion.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
ProQuest. Bacteriology & microbiology, bacterial immunology, vaccinations, antibiotics, immunology
Biological Abstracts
EBSCOhost: Bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature with international coverage.
Biological Science Collection
ProQuest. Includes biological sciences, microbiology toxicology, animal behavior, neurosciences, ecology
BioOne
An aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals. Features topics such as global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
Biotechnology Research Abstracts
An advanced search page in the ProQuest Environmental Science Index database, this resource offers research abstracts that focus on all aspects of biotechnology and bioengineering.
Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts
PorQuest. Biology of bones and teeth, ubiquitous role of ionic calcium.
CINAHL Complete
Full-text for nursing & allied health journal literature.
Compendex (Ei Village 2)
Includes citations and abstracts from scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, info. tech., material science, oceanography, engineering math, environmental science, geophysics, nanotech., biomed. tech., biophysics and more. Also known as Engineering Village.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Biological Sciences (CSA). Environmental biotechnology, engineering, pollution. 1967 – current.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
ProQuest. Public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Public health, safety, and industrial hygiene.
1981 – current - Some full-text

Reports of the Surgeon General, U.S. Public Health Service
Search all Surgeon General Reports

more... less...

The Surgeon General of the Public Health Service has focused the Nation's attention on important public health issues. Reports of the Surgeon General on the adverse health consequences of smoking triggered nationwide efforts to prevent tobacco use. Reports on nutrition, violence, and HIV/AIDS—to name but a few—have heightened America's awareness of important public health issues and generated major public health initiatives.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
EBSCOhost: Information on security & counter-terrorism
Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts
ProQuest. Valuable to researchers in immunology, virology, bacteriology, genetics, and other related fields.
Gideon
Interactive infectious disease tool. Includes diagnosis, epidemiology, therapy and microbiology. Especially useful for tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy.
Global Health
Ovid. Covers health topics in developing and developed countries world-wide. communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants. 1910 - present.
HealthStar
Ovid. Citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research (the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery). 1966- present
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Tulane University subscribes to the IEEE All Society Periodicals Package; the Now Foundations & Trends eBooks Library; and Proceedings of the IEEE and Bell Labs Technical Journal.

For a current list of IEEE Explore material that is part of the Tulane University subscription package, check out: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/accessinfo.
PopLine (Site Retired)
POPLINE was a valuable resource to the population, family planning, and reproductive health community for over 40 years (1973-2019). Site now home to links for alternative access to journal articles that collectively meet the majority of POPLINE user requests.
PrimateLit: a bibliographic database for primatology
Archive of literature in primatology, 1940-2010. Includes books, articles, reports, dissertations, and conference proceedings. (PrimateLit database ceased updates as of November 30, 2010.)
Risk Abstracts
ProQuest. Industrial, technological, and environmental risk. 1990 – current.
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online)
Model Open Access portal to full-text journals and books published in most countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Portugal and Spain.
Social Explorer
Digital mapping tool that can be used to trace important social datasets including Census data, CDC data, crime data, and other sources.
Sustainability Science Abstracts
Proquest. Human population dynamics, control, and effect on natural resource management.
Virology & AIDS Abstracts
ProQuest. Research on viruses & AIDS

VHL Regional Portal
National and specialized health databases for Latin-American and Caribbean countries. From BIREME - OPAS - OMS. Latin-American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information.

Water Resources Abstracts
ProQuest. Water conservation, control, pollution, treatment use and management of water resources. 1967 – current.
Zoological Record
A leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology and biodiversity research literature.

Chemical Abstracts, SciFinder Scholar

ACS Journals Search
Full-text repository of publications by the American Chemical Society, including journals, books, reference, news and other curated content.
SciFinder
Access to SciFinder requires a username and password. The link will take you to an information page with instructions for creating an individual account and who to contact for assistance.

SciFinder (CAS SciFinder-n) is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.

SciFinder Help & Tutorials

Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences

Microbiology, Immunology, and Virology Research Guide: Databases

Clinical and Health Research Databases

Entrez

Specialty Databases for Research in Health Sciences

Chemical Abstracts, SciFinder Scholar

Scholarly Multidisciplinary Databases