Library Guides: Industry Information: Value Chain

What is a 'value chain?'

Value chain is a high-level model of how businesses receive raw materials as input, add value to the raw materials through various processes, and sell finished products to customers. Value-chain analysis looks at every step a business goes through, from raw materials to the eventual end-user. The goal is to deliver maximum value for the least possible total cost.

Source: Value Chain Definition | Investopedia http://www.investopedia.com/terms/v/valuechain.asp#ixzz42Xb132SS

Value Chain Resources

Bloomberg Academic
Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.

Please reach out to the library for information on Bloomberg certification. Freeman students, faculty, and staff can receive certification in Bloomberg Market Concepts and Bloomberg's Environmental and Social Governance modules.

Fitch Connect (fka BMI Research) This link opens in a new window
Fitch Connect (fka BMI Research) contains global industry reports with a focus on forecasting. It includes country risk and financial market reports on industries ranging from automotive to telecommunications. Geographic regions covered: Africa, Asia, Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, Middle East, and North America; reports are further divided by country. NOTE: users must agree to the use terms and privacy policy to access this resource
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of detailed industry research reports. Industry reports include industry analysis, outlook, products and markets, market segments, supply chain, major players, competitive landscape, operating conditions, key statistics, and more.
This subscription includes reports for the US and China, as well as global industry reports. Specialized industry reports are also included along with US business environment data profiles. Reports are typically 35-40 pages in length.

Office of Textiles & Apparel (OTEXA) - Made in the USA
A searchable database of manufacturers, suppliers, and contractors in the United States provided by the Department of Commerce. Useful for those seeking to source Made in the U.S.A. textiles, apparel, and footwear products.

Data Axle This link opens in a new window
Directory of US and Canadian businesses as well as consumer and lifestyle information. Users can search for businesses by multiple criteria including name, geography, industry, business size. Consumer/lifestyle database is searchable by geography, housing, and lifestyle categories.

Use these sources for detailed information about your company

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ provides detailed company, industry, market, and transaction information, with screening, charting, and idea generating tools.
** Available to current Tulane students, faculty, and staff. To access this database, use the 'new user' link to create a login using your Tulane email address. NOTE: Tulane users must access Capital IQ from the library website database list. Do not go directly to capitaliq.com. **
Hoover's Company Profiles (Business Market Research Collection) This link opens in a new window
Hoover’s (Business Market Research Collection) features company profiles, industry information, and profiles of key executives. Profiles include a company overview, detailed history, officers and board members, competitors, products and operations, auditors, rankings, industry information, and historical financials.